Things have been going well lately.  I’ve been learning a LOT and finding some great bike equipment deals through friends and online.  Triathlons are expensive.  But if you do your research and take some time to look around, you can find some excellent deals on gently used equipment.

For example:

CycleOps PowerTap wheel with computer – These typically run for $1500 at the lowest.  They’re not necessary for tris, but they make your training much more effective and are a fantastic resource if you can afford one.  I managed to find a used one online for $375.  Woot!  It still works great, but the guy who was using it got a bike that takes smaller wheels and can’t use it anymore.  So thanks to him, I can get into power training!  Eventually I’d love to get a really nice system, but since I’m just starting out, this will work great for now.

Aerobars – Aerobars are pretty standard for longer tris.  They make you more aerodynamic, plus it’s just more comfortable.  These typically cost $75+ for a really basic set.  I have a coworker friend and her husband who had a pair laying around and “donated” them to the cause.  Thanks!!!

I popped the aerobars onto my bike today and tried them out for a few minutes after my run tonight.  It feels so weird!  I just need to get used to it, but it will take time.  It will also be a LOT better once I get my professional bike fitting done at my local bike shop – an absolute MUST.

I feel like I’ve learned so much in just a few weeks.  I’ve spent a ridiculous amount of time on triathlon websites and forums (a great one to check out is Beginner Triathlete), asking questions and doing lots of reading.  I’ve found a couple great books too:

The Triathlete’s Training Bible by Joe Friel (If you’re looking for only ONE book to get, this is the one.  Holy information overload, Batman!)

Strength Training for Triathletes by Patrick Hagerman

Zinn & the Art of Road Bike Maintenance by Lennard Zinn

So the last two weeks of training have been good.  Things have been shifted around just a bit because of the holidays, but I’ve gotten all my runs in, plus some time on the bike and in the pool.

Week of 12/19:

  • 3 short runs of 5 miles each
  • Long run of 8 miles, trying out heart rate training in zone 2 – it was crazy slow.
  • No biking or swimming since we were out of town for Christmas

Week of 12/26:

  • 3 short runs of 5 miles each, plus one 2.8 mile bonk that was supposed to be a 10 miler
  • Long run of 10 miles on the treadmill – didn’t worry about heart rate, just went slow so I was very comfortable.
  • 41 miles on the bike trainer, usually paired with a run of some sort to get my legs used to transitioning.
  • 1750 yards in the pool, working on my form.

The plan for this week:

  • 3 short runs of 5 miles each, long run of 12 miles
  • 70 miles on the trainer
  • 2500 yards in the pool, and I’m starting my tri-focused masters class!  It’s going to be awesome!

I’m so glad I signed up for something big and scary again.  I needed some kind of fire to keep myself going, and that has definitely done the trick.

Trying to figure out how to get things going in your life?  Read this great post by Susan from No Meat Athlete.

