I’m so excited! I got my P90X stuff the day we left for Florida and I wasn’t able to start until today. So this afternoon I took out all the bands (I got the set of 10 because my husband is going to do it too – later, after his knee heals), labeled everything (Yes, I am that anal. But hey, now I know what “weight” they all are!), took my “before” pictures (OUCH), and dove in to day 1: Chest and Back and Ab Ripper.

I was debating with myself whether or not I would post my before picture on here tonight. I’m going to go with no. It’s so bad. Normally I don’t stand with my gut hanging out (I’ve gotten used to using my stomach muscles and keeping things tight so it doesn’t look like there’s a huge roll around my stomach), and it’s really scary to see. But once I’m done, I’ll post the before and after pictures. I promise.

I found the Chest and Back exercises to be not too bad. I wish I had been able to get the pull up bar and use that, because I KNOW that would kick my butt. But unfortunately, the doors in our apartment are too narrow and also too close to the corners, so it wouldn’t work. So for now (until we buy a house), it’s bands for me.

While doing the Chest and Back DVD I came to the conclusion that I have absolutely ZERO upper body strength. I can do basic push ups without a problem, but as soon as it’s anything other than standard, I wipe out. But that’s what I’m working on!

Now the Ab Ripper…. HAHAHA! I looked like a fish flopping around on the floor. I am SO GLAD my husband was not home because he would have thought I was insane. The first half of the Ab Ripper I could do. My ab strength isn’t too bad. Not wonderful, but not awful either. But then it got into the twisting touching the floor thing and the obliques. I looked like a crazy person! For some reason, my body just didn’t want to cooperate. I kept trying, and then breaking down laughing at the ridiculousness of what I was doing. But hey, it’s only day 1! I’m sure I’ll get the hang of it quickly.

Maybe I can find a pull up bar that will fit our door… Anybody have any suggestions? They’re narrow. Maybe one that will screw into the frame?

Looking forward to day 2 tomorrow! Plyometrics! And a 3 mile run after. Whee!

