I have been using this gel for many years and it’s the only thing that seems to work.  I’ve battled moderate acne since I was a teenager, including the awful cystic acne that is so frustrating and painful.  One particularly frustrated day when I was in grad school I stumbled upon Acne.org and this product.

WHAT IS IT?

This treatment gel is 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide (bp).  This is a much lower concentration of bp than what you find in your run-of-the-mill acne gels and creams (typically 5%-10%).  Because it is a lower concentration, it is supposed to cause less skin irritation than other acne treatment gels and creams, while still having enough bp power to take care of the acne.

The treatment gel is also fragrance and dye free, so it shouldn’t make that weird white goop on your face if you wear it while working out.

REVIEW

I’ve used this gel for years and won’t use anything else.  When I first started using it, it did take a few days for my skin to adjust.  There was some slight redness and flakiness, but far less than any other acne product I had used.  After about three days, I didn’t notice a problem anymore.  The gel easily takes care of the regular acne.  For cystic stuff, it can’t do much.  Those are caused by an infection deeper in your skin, so no topical treatments can help.  I put it on there anyway, but you have to exercise some self-restraint and just leave it alone (put a hot, damp chamomile tea bag on a cystic acne spot and it will reduce the swelling – it really works!).

One thing to make a note of is that this gel can bleach fabrics.  That includes when fabrics come into contact with your face when you have it on.  I’ve never had a huge problem with it because as long as you’re aware of it, you’ll be careful when you get dressed and make sure you don’t rub your face on your shirt necks.  HOWEVER, I have bleached spots on my pillowcases.  It’s a good idea to switch to white pillowcases and towels if you’re going to use this.  And remember to wash your hands THOROUGHLY after applying it.

The gel also is true to it’s word when it comes to being dye-free.  I wear it all the time – day and night.  That includes when I work out.  I’ve never had any white goop on my face from wearing it while sweating.  Also – when you do work out, make sure you keep a junk (or white) towel on hand to wipe your face instead of using your shirt or hands (see bleaching comment above).

WHERE CAN YOU GET IT?

All products are available through Acne.org and Dan Kern’s website.  There are other products in his acne treatment line as well (I particularly like the jojoba oil).  Products are available in a range of sizes and prices.

Image: 16oz. Treatment Gel with pump, $32.03 (click on image to go straight to treatment gel page) – This size will last me for over a year.

I should note that I wasn’t compensated in any way for this review.  I just really like this stuff!

