I just read an interesting MSNBC article (found here) that hit pretty close to home.  I just recently transitioned myself over to vegetarianism, yet still crave chicken (or the six crab cakes that are still sitting hidden from my husband in the freezer) once in a while.  I was never a big meat eater, but over the last few months, every time I would eat meat I would get a bite or two in and then start thinking about the fact that I was chewing on a carcass.  Mmmmm… yummy.

So I decided not to eat meat anymore because that thought really kind of grossed me out.  I already didn’t eat pork (never liked it), and rarely touched red meat (except for the very occasional – as in once a year – steak), so it was really just poultry and seafood (mainly crab) to cut out.

Most of the time I don’t have a problem.  I never ate much meat anyway, so I don’t really miss it.  But sometimes I really just want that chicken dinner I used to make that was soooooo good (and my husband loves – which is saying something because I’m not the best cook).  I’ll have to try making myself a plate with just the sauce and pasta sometime.

So far, I haven’t succombed to my chicken cravings.  But I’m having a hard time finding protein substitutions.  I like firm tofu, but I have no idea how to cook it or what brands are good.  I have a little container of cottage cheese in the fridge, but that has been untouched so far.  The other night I went to the grocery store with the sole purpose of getting Chobani greek yogurt (yum!) and the store by me didn’t carry it (although their store 30 minutes away does.  Grrr…).

Really what I do any time I even think about food is go into the kitchen and inhale a whole bunch of peanut butter.  I justify it by saying that it’s a good source of protein.  But I know it’s an even bigger source of fat.  And in the amounts I eat it, it’s not exactly healthy.  Uugh, why do you have this hold on me, peanut butter???

Hmm… Now I want toast with peanut butter…

Anyway, I’m going to have to do some exploring of good alternative protein sources.  I know there are some vegetarian readers out there (do I have readers??) so if you have any suggestions, I’d love to hear them!

