I am so stoked.  Tonight was my first double-digit run and I was so nervous.  I had an 11 miler scheduled for tonight and I was psyching myself out all day.

Here’s the breakdown…

  • Distance: 11.02 miles
  • Time: 2:04:26
  • Pace: 11:17 min/mile
  • Location: Treadmill, 1.5% incline

This was my first run using any kind of food.  I had the strawberry GU Chomps and loved them (product review to come).  There’s 8 in a pack (180 calories total).  I ate the first “chomp” at mile 3, and ate one every mile thereafter.  Why mile 3, you ask?  Because there were only 8 in a pack and I knew I could handle the first couple miles without anything.  I wanted to be able to spread them out throughout the whole run to give myself reasonably consistent levels of electrolytes, etc.  So by starting at mile 3, I had one for every mile that was left.

I definitely noticed a difference using them.  Right around the end of each mile, I felt my focus starting to wane.  But at each mile marker, I popped one and had a couple mouthfuls of water and immediately felt like I had more energy and better focus.  Placebo?  Who knows?  The point is, I felt better.

So, wohoo!  I’m psyched!  I’m starting to feel like I’m actually training for a marathon.

The only times I had to stop were when:

1) Our new puppy came down into the basement (followed my husband) and tried to jump on the treadmill.  I had to hop off and grab him quickly to escape puppy peril. (he’s fine)

2) Apparently our treadmill automatically shuts itself off at 100 minutes (first time I’ve been on for that long).  So I had to hop off, flip the switch, and hop back on.

