I feel so blah these past several days.  I think a lot of it has to do with being stuck around the house and taking care of everybody.  I’m not complaining – I’m very glad my husband got his knee fixed, and I love the dogs.  It just takes its toll after a while.

The problem is, when I feel like crap, I eat like crap.  I automatically revert back to my toast with peanut butter phase where that’s all I eat for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  And the more I do that, the worse I feel.  It’s a vicious cycle.  And it’s not a thin little layer of peanut butter.  We’re taking a big, thick layer of LOTS of peanut butter.  Gross.  But sooooooo good.

I did attempt to actually cook a dinner tonight.  I wanted to use up the veggies we had sitting around so I made spaghetti squash with roasted butternut squash, onions, garlic, red and green peppers, and feta cheese.  It turned out just so-so.  Not horrible, but it was definitely missing something.  It was a little bland.  Also, I have definitely not figured out how to peel a butternut squash because it took forever and I didn’t get it fully peeled so some pieces were a little tough.  All in all, not my best cooking.  But it was a valiant effort.

To go along with all this, I decided to not do my 4 miler tonight.  missing a short little 4 miler won’t hurt me in my training, and I really needed a day off from running.  I’m exhausted, and also mentally frustrated becuase the last two runs I’ve had (Tuesday and Wednesday) were pretty bad.  I really had to push through them.  I know the mental battle won’t go away without just running through it, but at least I can rest a little and get some more energy so I can have good long runs this weekend.

I think my brain and body have just atrophied during my vacation.  I love teaching at a college, and I love the time off, but I get really, really lazy near the end of my breaks.  It’s hard to snap out of it.  And I still have another week and a half to go.  Although, there’s a lot of things I need to prep for this coming semester, so it’s not really all free time.

So I pose this question to all of you out there…

What do you do when you get in a funk?  How do you get yourself out of it?

