I struggled a little this week getting back into the swing of things, and getting my training schedule straightened out.  I switched the weekday system so I didn’t have set runs, just a mileage goal.  But when I tried it, I didn’t really like that system.  So I went back to scheduled runs and it seems to be going alright.

I also stopped using the Podrunner BPM mixes FOR NOW.  Not because I don’t like them (I LOVE them).  But because that’s all I was using and I was getting in a running music rut and I think it was making me bored.  So I’m making fun playlists with music that makes me happy, and just enjoying it when I run.

I also read The Complete Book of Running for Women (Claire Kowalchik) and really enjoyed it.  For my runs this week I focused on my breathing (3:2 and 2:1 patterns) and posture.  I tend to get hunched over with my butt sticking out and arms swinging across my body when I get tired.  And that makes it even harder to run, so then I get more tired.

I also decided to not do the WHOLE P90X program during my marathon training.  I think that was another thing that was making me burn out.  I wasn’t actually DOING the program yet, but the thought of doing a run (anywhere from 30 minutes to 2+ hours) AND another 60-90 minute workout was making me dread doing either.  So instead I’m going to use the videos for my strength training on non-running days.  I’ll do the actual P90X program after my marathon is over and then I can really see what it’s like!  I’m really looking forward to it, but right now it’s just too much to do all at once.

Monday – Rest day.

Tuesday – 3.03 miles outside (hooray!).  I brought my running stuff with me to work and ran around campus and downtown.  It was nice to get back outside!  I didn’t worry about my pace or where I was going.  I just ran and let myself enjoy it.  This was my first day back after taking my mental health break.

Wednesday – P90X Plyometrics – this time I got all the way through!

Thursday – 6.04 miles on the treadmill (1.5% incline) in 1:05:06 (10:47/mile).  Felt good, and was happy with myself for getting back into things.

Friday – Rest day.

Saturday – Went to yoga with my friend and LOVED IT!!

Sunday – 13.12 miles on the treadmill (1.5% incline) in 2:27:21 (11:14/mile).  It was AWESOME!  I had the best runners high ever.  My legs were fluid, everything was effortless! (I might still be on that runners high.)  I decided to skip the music this time and watch a Friends DVD.  I got through the entire first disc of season one and it was exactly the same length as my run (perfect!).  I really liked having that to watch as I ran and actually found myself laughing and enjoying the shows to the point that I didn’t even notice I was running.  I think I’ll be doing that on my long runs from now on.  This will be my chance to watch the entire series all the way through and in the right order.  Yes, I am a nerd.

