Today was a decent day.  I had my awesome breakfast of Fage 0% plain, Kashi Go Lean Crunch (Honey Almond Flax), a drizzle of honey, and a sprinkle of brown sugar.  YUMYUMYUM!  I love this combination!  It is absolutely delicious!

I then went to work and tried to plow through my grading and UUGH.  So I took a break in the afternoon and decided to run over to the track and try some speedwork.  I got in 2.5 miles total (running there and back plus the speedwork).  I forgot how hard that is!  I am one slow cookie!  But that’s okay.  Speed comes with time.  I’ll get faster eventually.

The setback:  Starting last night I’ve been experiencing some discomfort (I don’t want to call it “pain” because it hasn’t made me say “ouch” yet.  It’s  just there)  in between my big and second toe.  It’s mild, but there.  I first noticed it last night, a couple hours after my run.  It seemed to be less “uncomfortable” this morning so I wasn’t too worried.  This afternoon when I was walking around at work I noticed it again.  I went for my run and everything felt fine.  Afterwards the discomfort was back and was a little more noticeable.

I did some poking around online and it sounds very similar to seismoiditis.  Which is an inflammation/irritation of the two small seismoid bones that sit at the base of your big toe.  I’m hoping that it’s not that and it’s just from getting my foot stepped on at rugby on Monday.  If the discomfort doesn’t go away in a day or so, I’ll be calling my orthopedist on Monday.  Tomorrow I will probably take it easy and rest.  I’m icing it right now.  So hopefully that will help.  Grr… Just when I start getting back into a routine.  It seems like every time I try to get back on track, something happens.

