Friday was a blast!  I had my fage/kashi breakfast again.  But this time I remembered to take a picture!  It’s not the most wonderful looking thing, but it tastes delicious!

Breakfast “Granola”

  • 1/2 cup Fage 0% plain greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 – 1.5 cups Kashi Go Lean Crunch Honey Almond Flax Cereal
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar

Yum!

Rocket had a “big boy day” and went with me to work.  I was absolutely shocked at how good he was!  What a pleasant surprise.  Of course, he was completely giddy to see new people, but once I got him into my office he just calmed right down and took a nap.  Overall, I can’t complain.

We went home around noon (it’s spring break this week) and played like crazy for a while and then I had to dive in to cooking for that night.  I was having some friends over for a girls poker night and went nuts making food.  I had a great time though!  One of my friends that was coming over is vegan, and I saw it as a challenge – I wanted to make sure she could eat everything.  It turned out great!

Dinner was my spicy tofu pad thai.  Snacks (pictured here) were guacamole, veggies and garlic hummus, fruit and frozen banana peanut butter dip (which we just wanted to eat with spoons), and my friend brought her AMAZING bean/olive dip.  We ate so much we all felt disgusting after, but it was delicious.

Vegan Guacamole

  • 3 ripe avocados, pitted and peeled
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 1/4 cup vegan sour cream
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • Hot sauce to taste
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 plum tomatoes, seeded and cut into 1/4-inch dice
  • 1/4 cup diced red onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro or parsley

Toss avocados with lime juice and mash (coarsely) with a fork.  Fold in sour cream and seasoning.  Stir in tomatoes, red onion, and cilantro.  Enjoy!

Hummus

  • 2 cups chick peas (drained and rinsed)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 3 tbsp tahini  (I didn’t have this, so I left it out)
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp paprika

Place the chick peas in the food processor along with the garlic, lemon juice, and water. Process for about a minute, until smooth. If too thick, add more water.  Stir in the tahini and spices, taste, and add more lemon juice/tahini/cumin/paprika as appropriate.

It turned out pretty good but the garlic was a little overpowering (to put it nicely).  Next time I will probably cut the amount of garlic in half.  And I LOOOOOOVE garlic.

And the star of the evening…

Frozen Banana Peanut Butter Fruit Dip (YUM!!!!!!!!) – From this post at The Voracious Vegan

  • 2 frozen bananas (it’s okay if they’re not frozen, just put it in the freezer before serving)
  • 1 large spoonful of peanut butter (about 4 tbsp)
  • 1/2 tbsp cinnamon
  • Drizzle soy milk

Put all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth.  Put in the freezer until serving.

This stuff was AMAZING.  We all wanted to eat it with spoons.  The bowl was literally scraped clean by the end of the night.  Next time I think I’ll make it farther in advance and we’ll freeze it solid, drizzle some chocolate syrup on it and eat it as ice cream.

The bean dip was also AMAZING.  My friend made it and I will definitely be getting the recipe from her soon.  I never thought I liked olives, but I couldn’t stop eating that dip and it was mostly olives.  So who knew?

As for my running today, I took one more day to rest my foot.  It’s feeling 100% better and I’m looking forward to my 16 miler on Sunday.  I’m so glad that feeling went away!

