Apparently I DO need to continue my daily check-ins.  This week at work was very stressful (but ended up being extremely successful) and included several nights staying on campus until much much later than normal (as in 9:30pm).  Now that it’s Friday, I spent the entire night 1) going to doggie agility, and then 2) sitting on the couch, computer on lap, thinking about how I really should go down to the basement and run.

I am still on the couch with the computer and it’s now 11:40 pm.  Whoops!

A couple things I have learned from my marathon training that I will apply to the next one… (I’m planning on doing marathon #2 on September 25th):

  1. Don’t skip a planned workout unless ABSOLUTELY necessary (as in injury or illness) – it’s very, very hard for me to get back on track after I do.
  2. Make sure I eat enough to fuel my runs! I think part of my awful February was because I was underfueling and bonking on my runs (when I actually made it down to the treadmill, that is).
  3. 2 words: STRENGTH TRAINING!!! I just got a copy of “The New Rules of Lifting for Women” and am super psyched to get started! (It’s currently in the mail.)
  4. Cutting back on the sugars makes a world of difference.  Whenever I eat processed sugars I feel absolutely awful for the rest of the day.  Natural sugars seem to be fine (like those found in fruits, honey, etc.), but those processed sugars just ruin my whole day.

I’m actually already looking forward to training round #2 because I’ll be on summer vacation for the whole thing (except the last two weeks, but those are the taper anyway).  So I’ll be able to make sure I get my runs in, and get my strength training in.  I feel like overall, it’s going to be a much better experience than this time around.  Trying to cram marathon training in to the busiest semester I’ve had so far (and probably will have for a couple more years) is just not fun.  I know I’ll be able to do the distance when the time comes, but I’m not expecting any miracles.  But that’s okay!  I’m learning – every day is a new challenge.

