I’ve mentioned them on here before, but often people have no idea what a green monster is.  Or, if you’re like my husband, you know what it is, but it freaks you out (he has since come around)…

Green monsters are smoothies!  They are delicious and wonderful, and GREEN!  It turns out that raw spinach has basically no flavor, so when you mix it into a smoothie, you don’t taste it at all.  Instead, all you taste is your delicious smoothie, PLUS you get all the nutritional benefits of the spinach.

Here’s a great website (by Angela of Oh She Glows) for more info on green monsters!

A tip: If you want to get someone to try them, make them close their eyes first and then give it to them.  I did this to my husband and he liked it.  Then he opened his eyes and saw that it was bright green!

A couple of my favorite green monsters…

PB Banana

  • 1 banana (preferably frozen, but it doesn’t have to be)
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup soy milk
  • 1 tbsp ground flax
  • A boatload of spinach (I usually put in 1-2 cups – however much I can cram into the blender!)
  • Ice

Chocolate PB

  • 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1/2 cup soy milk
  • Lots of spinach!
  • Ice

Delish!

