So this dish has become a staple in our house.  We seem to eat it once a week because not only is it SUPER easy, but my husband LOVES IT (so do I)!  He actually specifically requests it for dinner just about every week.  Yes, this is my meat-loving husband I am talking about.  And I promise, I didn’t brainwash him.  If he ever turns 100% vegetarian, I’m certain it will be because of this dinner.  My best friend is also planning on making this dish to feed to her tofu-skeptical brother.

So once again, I made my pad thai, but this time I finally remembered to take pictures!  I’ve also experimented with stuff, so now it’s better than before!

Press and slice your tofu.  I tend to slice mine into 1/4 inch cubes.

While cooking the tofu, get some water boiling for the rice noodles.  We have found that we like the flat and wide rice noodles and NOT the thin rice sticks.  The sticks tend to be chewier.  Cook according to package directions, drain, rinse, and set aside.

Saute tofu in approx. 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil until browned and crispy on the outside.

That is some golden deliciousness right there.

My tried-and-true sauce combination.  Make sure you shake up the hot sauce before pouring!

Man I wish I had a better camera.  And better lighting.  Sigh…

Add about 3 tbsp peanut sauce and hot sauce to taste.  Stir to coat the tofu.

Add in fresh broccoli, sliced water chestnuts, and about another 3 tbsp of the peanut sauce.  Stir to coat.

Stir in rice noodles.  Add more peanut sauce if desired (we tend to like ours with a little extra sauce).

Enjoy!

Other things that are delicious to include:

  • Peanuts
  • Crunchy noodle things (can’t remember their actual names…  I’ll find out.)
  • Scallions
