So I went to my orthopedist on Friday morning and was pleasantly surprised with the outcome.

It is indeed runners knee, but it’s not severe.  My left kneecap does track slightly to the outside of the groove in my femur, which causes the tendons to become irritated and inflamed.

So rather than the “no running for X weeks” response I was expecting, my doctor gave me several quad strengthening exercises to do and said I can run, but I need to be aware of how I am feeling.  (He is a marathoner, and understands the crazy need to run.)  He suggested that instead of the full on May 30th, I switch to the half.  And then focus my efforts on the full in September.  I think that’s a good plan.  That way, I still get to run SOMETHING in Buffalo, but I won’t feel like a failure having to drop out of the full partway through.  And I can make sure I do my training the RIGHT way for the September full.

Hooray!

