Banana Soft Serve Vegan Overnight Oats (from Angela at Oh She Glows – love her stuff!)

This was the first time I had made the FBVOO that I’ve heard so much about while reading Angela’s blog.  I definitely liked them and will be making them again.  I have to remember to make my banana soft serve in the blender (which I usually do).  When I made these, my blender was dirty and I was being lazy so I used our mini food processor, and the bananas came out with a really weird (and kind of offputting) texture.  But when I make it in the blender I know I’ll love it.

Definitely a thumbs up!  Come to think of it, I should put some VOO in the fridge right now…

And onto meal #2…

Quinoa with Zucchini, Carrots, Kale, and Pears (adapted from this Vegan Dad recipe)

A friend of mine made the original recipe for us on one of our dinner nights a few weeks ago and we LOVED it (thanks Carrie!!).  This was actually the recipe that made us all realize we liked kale.  The sweetness of the pears is fantastic when you have it with a piece of the salty kale.  YUM!

My adaptations:

  • Quinoa instead of polenta – cooked the same way
  • Zucchini and carrots instead of the beans (I didn’t have any) – just chopped them up small and sauteed them for a minute
  • Apple cider vinegar on the pears instead of balsamic (didn’t have any)

Delicious!  Definitely something I will make again!  The hubs liked it too.

