Bake Bake Bake!  Bake your booootay (off)!  (To be sung to the tune of that song I can’t remember the name of but now it’s in my head.)

I was baking up a storm today.  It was a drab and rainy day and I felt like being in the kitchen.

This was from a couple days ago, but it could have just as easily been today…

Jade didn’t want to get out of bed.

So I made her into it.

(She stayed like that until I went downstairs a couple minutes later.)

My kitchen was busy today!  When I was making breakfast I noticed that the three bananas that were left were on their last legs, and perfect for banana nut bread.

(adapted from Veganomicon)

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 1/4 cup applesauce 1 tbsp vinegar and 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp molasses maple syrup
  • 2 cups flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda (in addition to above substitution)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Walnuts
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees, grease pan
  2. Mash bananas with spoon or fork.
  3. Add sugar, applesauce vinegar + baking soda, oil, and molasses maple syrup.  Mix.
  4. Add flour, remaining baking soda, spices, salt, nuts
  5. Transfer to pan and bake 45-50 minutes.

Next up, was peanut butter cookies!

Yeah, I may have eaten about 10 of these already today…

(adapted from The Joy of Vegan Baking)

  • 1  3/4 cups flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1  1/2 tsp egg replacer 1 tbsp vinegar and 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1  1/4 cups packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance (nondairy butter)
  • 3 tbsp nondairy milk (Mystery solved!  I was wondering why the batter was so dry (but still delicious).  It’s because I forgot this.  I was going to use almond milk.  Dangit!)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Combine flour, baking soda, salt.  Set aside
  3. In a separate bowl, combine brown sugar, peanut butter, milk (whoops), and vanilla.  Beat with mixer until well blended.
  4. Add egg replacement (1 tbsp vinegar plus 1 tsp baking soda), and beat until blended.
  5. Add dry ingredients and mix.
  6. Drop balls of dough onto cookie sheet and press with a fork.
  7. Bake for 10-12 minutes.

While rummaging through my cupboards I also found a couple packages of dog treat mix.

No, it’s not vegan.  I’m just trying to use up what’s in the cupboards.  My mom gave us these for Christmas – about two years ago.

Can we PLEASE eat them now???

“Mom, would you please stop making me do this and let me eat the stupid thing already?”

“Mom, you are such a turd.”

I swear they did get to eat them.  I would have taken pictures of them actually enjoying their treats, but they wolfed them down in about three seconds.

There was one more project in the works today, but I’ll have more on that tomorrow…

Shhh… it’s a secret!

