I have been sewing a LOT lately!

I decided it was time to replace my purse.  The one I had been using was one I have had since probably when I was in high school.  And unfortunately it was leather.  Which had really started to bug me.

So rather than going and buying a new one, my creative side took over and I designed my own.  Of course, this all happened over the course of one night in which I couldn’t sleep and I was up until 4:30am with my brain just going and going and figuring out how EXACTLY to piece it all together.  I actually got up and out of bed at 3:30am and went into the other room to draw it out.  No joke.

But hey!  It turned out great!

I love the charm for the zipper pull.  It makes me smile.

You can’t see the inside.  It’s already a mess.

So I had a bunch of fabric leftover from the purse (as in, another yard and a half or so – whoops), and I decided with all this cooking, I needed an apron.  I don’t have enough shirts to continue to let them get splattered with sauce and oil.

So again, I planned and I planned.  And tonight after dinner, I started sewing…

LOVE!

AND… it’s reversible!

I like the black and white side the best.  But the green is cute too.  I think that’s the side I’ll let get messy.

I’m so glad I learned how to sew.  And I have my mom to thank for that.  She taught Home Ec (which is now called Family and Consumer Science) for 20-something years.  So I learned how to sew when I was fairly young.  I never made anything super amazing, but it’s always a skill that I was glad to have.

And how can you go wrong when you have such a talented teacher???  She made my wedding dress!

See, I had to show you mine first because they look pretty pitiful next to my wedding dress.

Thanks mom!  You rock!

I’m not sure if I would ever have the confidence in my skills to make something that important.  I was completely ridiculously anal when I was making the apron!  I can’t even imagine with a wedding dress.  Yikes.

