I am extremely proud of myself for sticking to my training plan while I was in Florida.  Normally, this type of trip would have completely thrown me off and now I would be struggling to get back on track, which would inevitably take weeks.

Here’s the recap…

  • Monday (the 21st) – traveling and adjusting to the ridiculous humidity (yuck)
  • Tuesday – 4.08 miles in 42:45 (10:28/mile).  I wasn’t worrying about my speed at all.  I just wanted to run and enjoy it and get used to the heat and humidity.  It was nice to run around my parents neighborhood and enjoy the change of scenery.  It was also nice to run through all the sprinklers.  Even if the water did stink.  The first mile was the first run in the Vibrams.  I definitely liked them!
  • Wednesday – 2.7 miles in 29:04 (10:47/mile) – The sprinklers weren’t on and I was DYING.  Decided to cut the planned 4 mile run a little short and avoid passing out somewhere in the neighborhood.  The first mile was once again in the Vibrams.  They make your calves and feet tired, but in a good way.  It’s definitely making me pay attention to my stride and use different muscles.
  • Thursday – No run.  I did, however, walk ALL OVER Universal Studios and the Harry Potter park.  Hooray!
  • Friday – No run.  I was still extremely sore from all the walking.
  • Saturday – 2 miles on the treadmill in the fitness center.  I could not believe how awful it felt to run inside.  Even though the place was air conditioned, the humidity was stifling and I had to shorten my run a bit.
  • Sunday – 8.48 miles in 1:35:30 (11:15/mile).  I took the walking trail down the main road in town until it ran out and then turned around and came back.  It was supposed to be a 9 mile run, but the trail ran out at 4.25 miles (so close!) and there were no shady routes from there.  So I figured I’d just turn back and enjoy the rest of the run.

Not perfect, but way better than I anticipated.  My mileage is really low at the moment because I’m basically starting from scratch.  I want to increase my mileage slowly to avoid repeating my knee problems.  So far, so good!

The other thing I’ve been doing to help with the knee is biking.  It seems to be working!  Plus it’s fun, and exhausting.

