I survived!

(my husband’s evening)

No, not fireworks.  The dogs!

I’ve been worried about how the dogs would do hearing fireworks.  Jade can sometimes be weird with noises, and this was our first 4th of July with Rocket.  Last night (the 3rd), some people were already setting some off, and Rocket was going nuts (and thus making Jade nuts too).  So I began to devise a plan…

This afternoon I called my friend (hi Carrie!) and the two of us took the dogs hiking up a mountain to make them so completely exhausted that they wouldn’t care when they heard the fireworks.  (I didn’t take any pictures because my camera was buried in my backpack and I didn’t feel like digging it out.  I’ll go hiking again – often – I promise!)  We’re very fortunate to live so close to the Adirondacks.  There’s so many great mountains to hike!

One of many gorgeous views!

We didn’t go all the way to the top (probably about 2/3 of the way) because it was 95 out today and I didn’t want the dogs to get overheated and not be able to make it back down safely.  So after they seemed good and tired, we turned around and headed back down.

We then went home and the dogs slept from 5pm to 9pm.  The woke up when the fireworks started, but only gave a couple halfhearted barks and then settled back down.  Once the fireworks were done, they fell back asleep…

He looks so peaceful and innocent when he’s passed out.

VICTORY IS MINE!

On a running-related note, I got my 10 mile run in this morning!  It was already warm when I went out at 8:30am and by the time I was done I felt like I was melting!  I tooled around the neighborhood and then ran through the park for a bit and then headed back home.  I love my Garmin so much – I often find myself doing out-and-back routes now and just running wherever the wind takes me.  It’s very freeing!

As for the knee, so far so good!

I hope you had an excellent day!

