After the Buffalo Marathon (which turned into a half marathon due to my knee debacle), I had to dial my mileage WAY back and start from the beginning to avoid the runners knee issues that had been plaguing me.

Today it was time for my 12 mile run and I was really looking forward to it.  My husband and I took his bike and went to a local bike trail where I could run while he rode with me.

Before we left, I had a banana because I needed something to eat quickly before getting started.  I don’t need anything before my shorter runs, but I run out of steam quickly if I don’t eat before my long ones.  I also packed up a cooler with some water and cantaloupe for after our run/ride.  I’m always trying to find food combinations that work well with my long runs, and I was happy to find out that these definitely were.

It was a beautiful sunny day – not super cool, but definitely not as gross as it has been lately.  The trail was packed!  There were tons of people out riding, walking, and running.  Dogs aren’t allowed on the trail, but if they were, I’m sure we would have seen a bunch!

I was super glad I did my run on this trail.  Since I’m running the ADK marathon in September, I need to get used to hills, which I don’t usually do.  The trail was perfect for this!  Lots of hills.  Some gradual and long, and others short (but they felt long!) and steep!  It was GREAT hill practice.  I will definitely have to do that again.

One thing I’ve learned through all this training is that I am a distance runner, not a speed demon.  My typical long run pace is 10:00 to 11:00/mile.  I like to run at a pace that feels comfortable and doesn’t make me feel like I don’t know how much longer I can make it.  I like to settle in for the long haul.

So here’s the splits…

  • Mile 1 – 10:58
  • Mile 2 – 10:49
  • Mile 3 – 10:56
  • Mile 4 – 12:53 (Crazy long hill that felt like it would NEVER end!)
  • Mile 5 – 9:34 (My husband disappeared ahead of me and I was trying to find him.  Perhaps I should employ this strategy more often!)
  • Mile 6 – 10:41
  • Mile 7 – 11:23 (Half mile STEEP uphill.)
  • Mile 8 – 10:39
  • Mile 9 – 10:50
  • Mile 10 – 11:18 (LAST uphill!)
  • Mile 11 – 10:51
  • Mile 12 – 9:37 (I wanted to see what I could do for the last mile.  It felt really comfortable!  I could have kept going or gone a little faster but I ran out of water.)

I’m so thrilled that my Garmin stuck with me through the whole thing.  When I went hiking on the 4th I brought it with me and it started giving me a low battery warning.  I forgot to charge it after the hike and remembered in the car on my way up to the bike trail today.  I was less than thrilled and was expecting it to shut off at any second, but it didn’t!  That low battery warning must come on when you have about 3 hours of juice left.  Good to know!  I came home and charged it all back up, so CRISIS AVERTED!

I hope you had an excellent weekend!

