It looks like I will be taking this week off from running.  Over the last week I’ve developed a nagging pain in my right foot that I’m 99.9% certain is the early stages of  plantar fasciitis.  I also have tight calves and a tight achilles in my right leg – which is often a cause of plantar fasciitis.  That, on top of running a lot and working on hills, can end up irritating the plantar fascia and causing this pain that I’ve been feeling lately.

So what’s a girl to do?  This week, my focus is going to be:

  • Rest
  • Ice
  • Stretching – both my plantar fascia, and my calves/achilles

I’ll also be picking up a new pair of my Superfeet insoles.  The ones that I have at the moment have around 500 miles on them, so that should help too.

So no running for me this week.  But that’s okay.  I have a couple extra weeks built into my training plan for this specific purpose.  And hopefully, by resting now, I’ll avoid being sidelined for a longer period of time later.

