Today I am officially 8 weeks away from my marathon.  And still feeling good about it!

This morning we were extremely lazy and slept in waaaaay later than usual.  It was extremely relaxing.  Except when you wake up and find a 75 lb. dog and a 55 lb. dog laying on top of you.  And somehow neither of us noticed this happen while we were sleeping.  The sad thing is, this happens every night.

Once we got ourselves situated for the day, we headed out for my weekend long run.  My husband loaded his bike up on the car rack and I got my gear together and we took off for the bike trail.  I was lucky it was so cool today since I didn’t really get going until the afternoon!  But it turned out to be a beautiful day.

Starting out.  Gorgeous day!

The hubs – using his momentum to get up the hill.  It’s bigger than it looks in the picture.

Even though there’s main roads and housing developments all over the place, you’d never know it.

The start of the crazy long (~3 miles) downhill.  Which is great and all, but then I have to turn around and run back UP it.

At the start of the run, I felt absolutely horrible.  I was tired – I had actually slept in the car on the way there – and I just didn’t feel like I had any energy.  I forced myself to start running and at 2 miles I actually told my husband I didn’t think I had it in me today.  But I kept on going.

I started out doing a mid/forefoot strike, but by 2 miles in, I was so tired I wimped out and let myself switch back to heelstriking – which felt extremely weird after working so hard to stop doing that.  However, it didn’t seem to cause a problem.  I think that’s because all the forefoot striking I’ve been doing has strengthened the muscles in my foot enough that it keeps the stress off my plantar fascia.  So I guess that’s good!

So I pushed through the tiredness and got to my turnaround point at 6.5 miles.  I really love out-and-back routes because when you get to your halfway point it almost feels like you’re done because you’re heading home/back to the car – even if there’s another 6.5 miles to go!  It’s all mental, but it works for me.

The second half of my run felt much better than the first, even with the 1 mile long giant awful uphill that was the very first thing I had to do when I turned around.  I’ve noticed that I make a lot of weird noises when I run hills.  It’s how I get my anguish out (I won’t say “pain” because that’s not really what it is).  But I grunt a lot and let out some weird yelling-type noises and somehow that makes me feel better.  And there’s ALWAYS a loud one when I get to the top.  It’s like I’m taking that hill and putting it behind me.  I don’t know how I came about doing this;  it just sort of happened.

During the second half of my run I went a little faster – I just did the math out and I actually ran a negative split (the second half of the run is faster than the first).  At one point (miles 9 and 10) I got into the groove and knocked out two miles that were in the low 10:00s/mile.

So here’s the breakdown…

  • Total distance: 13.03 miles
  • Time: 2:22:49
  • Pace: 10:57/mile (Right on target – I’m usually between 10:00 and 11:00/mile)
  • Mile 1 – 11:27 (Feeling awful, but pushing through)
  • Mile 2 – 10:30
  • Mile 3 – 11:01
  • Mile 4 – 11:32
  • Mile 5 – 11:03
  • Mile 6 – 10:59
  • Mile 7 – 11:21
  • Mile 8 – 11:35
  • Mile 9 – 10:06 (In the zone!)
  • Mile 10 – 10:15
  • Mile 11 – 11:10
  • Mile 12 – 11:10 (The most consistency I’ve ever had!  Ha!)
  • Mile 13 – 10:20

After a long run I always need some sort of light snack to get my blood sugar back up.  My recent favorite has been…

Cantaloupe!  I devoured that bowl like it was my job.

Tonight I headed off to my first blogger meetup!  Before heading out I popped some vegan peanut butter cookies in the oven.  It was also the first time I got to use my cookie scoop!  My friend got it for me for my birthday.  I’m such a nerd – I’ve wanted one of these for a while and was sooooo excited to get one.

Anal-retentive me loves having the cookies all the same size…

The blogger meetup/game night was held by the most-excellent Heather!  It was really great to meet her finally since I’ve been reading her blog for a while.  I also got to meet Jen (A fellow runner), and Lauren (A fantastic cook!  And also a ringer at Apples to Apples.).

All in all, it was a good day.  And now I’m off to stretch my calves and rest!  I hope you had a great weekend!

