This week I am cat and garden sitting for a coworker friend of mine while he’s out of town.  My instructions were to pick as much as I possibly could because their garden is so productive that they can’t possibly keep up.  Things frequently end up rotting in place – and that’s after they give a bunch of it away!

So today I went over to check on everything – bags in tow.

And that’s not even the whole thing!

I LOOOOOOOVE green beans!  They’ve already picked and frozen enough that they can have some every single day until next summer.  And they’re still all over the place!

They’re HUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGE! (hehehe…)

Done picking the green beans!  (At least the ones I could reach!)  I went down that whole row.  That giant blue bag?  Yeah, it’s full of nothing but beans.

There’s a whole other side that I didn’t pick – waiting for me in a day or two.

Onto the cucumbers!  There’s a TON that will be ready in a few days.

Zucchini!  I smell some zucchini bread baking tonight!

Biggest. Zucchini. Ever.  It’s longer than my entire forearm and hand combined.

Why do I think crookneck squash are adorable?

Tomatillos!  They’re not quite ready though.

I can not WAIT for the corn.  It’s supposed to be ready this week.  Didn’t look quite there yet.  Maybe on the next trip???

Cherry tomatoes!  My husband was eating these things like they were candy last time we were there.

There is a RIDICULOUS amount of cherry tomatoes.  This is just a small section.

And big old beefsteak tomatoes.

So many peppers the plants are falling over!

What 48 pounds of produce looks like.  Oy vey!  (Yeah, I weighed it.  I’m a nerd and I was curious.)

The final count:

  • 1 giganto bag of green beans
  • 1 huge salad serving bowl of cherry tomatoes
  • 2 zucchini that are longer than my arm
  • 4 crookneck squash
  • 10 giant beefsteak and heirloom tomatoes
  • 8 jalapenos
  • 36 bell and poblano peppers
  • 16 cucumbers

Now, my challenge for you, dear blog readers…

What are your favorite recipes for marinara sauces and salsas?

also

What the heck can I do with 16 cucumbers?

And for my local buddies…

Come over and get some dang produce!

“Hey mom, how about you go in the other room for a sec?  I promise I’ll be good…”

