I had my first produce victim/volunteer stop by last night.  This is why Mer is my best friend – I can always count on her!  🙂

I sent her home with some leftover anniversary smlove, creamy tomato basil pasta (from Vegan Yum Yum), a bag of cherry tomatoes, a bag of zucchini bread muffins (from Joy of Vegan Baking), some homemade pickles (from Big City Cooking), two big tomatoes, one crookneck squash, a couple cucumbers, and a whole mess of peppers and green beans.  Excellent!  I am making a dent!

I then spent the ENTIRE night (no lie – I was working on this until 5am) working my way through what I planned to keep…

Messy kitchen!  The sad part is that’s the WHOLE counter.  I can’t wait to get a house.  Siiiiiigh…

Four jars of homemade pickles (from Big City Cooking)!  My husband is already complaining that he has to wait TWO WHOLE DAYS before he can eat them.  Poor thing.

Zucchini bread (from the Joy of Vegan Baking)!  I made a triple batch – and the recipe is already a double batch, so that’s actually something like six batches.  Needless to say, I ended up with a LOT of muffins, plus an entire loaf.  And you know what?  It’s AWESOME.

Green beans – cooked, blanched, and ready for freezing.  It took forever, but I got through them all.  I ended up with two gallons.

Homemade marinara sauce (from Giada De Laurentiis).  I ended up with three and a half jars.  I haven’t tried it yet, but my husband kept coming by and stealing some and walking away going “that is soooooooooo gooooooooood!”  So I’m thinking it’s probably pretty good!

I ended up with quite a full kitchen!

And this is what was left after I gave a bunch of stuff to my friend!

The amazing thing is, I feel like I’ve barely made a dent.  I haven’t even touched the peppers or the cherry tomatoes yet.  Although I think my husband will just munch on the cherry tomatoes like they’re Skittles, so that might be easier than I thought.

Today’s plan… SALSA!

