There have been many delicious eats in our household lately…

Eggplant Parmesan

Slice eggplant into 1/4 inch thick circles.  Rub a small sprinkle of salt into each slice.  Place into colander and allow to drain for 20 minutes.  After draining, rinse slices off.  Dip eggplant slices into egg replacer or flax egg to coat.  Then dip into breadcrumbs (mixed with your favorite seasonings – I used something like thyme, oregano, etc.).  Once eggplant is breaded, pan fry (I used olive oil, but canola oil or something similar would work well too) until golden brown.  Place browned eggplant into a baking dish and cover with marinara sauce and your favorite vegan cheeze (I used Daiya mozzarella).  Bake just long enough for cheeze to melt (I did 5 or 10 minutes at 350 degrees).

Angela’s Lentil Walnut Burgers – best burger I’ve ever had.  And AMAZING with avocado on top!!!  I’m totally addicted.

Awesome Avocado Salsa – So easy and so good!

  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 can corn kernels
  • 1 or 2 diced tomatoes (In subsequent versions of this salsa I’ve been leaving the tomatoes out because I’m not the hugest fan of them and tend to just eat around them anyway.  It’s awesome without the tomatoes too.)
  • 1 or 2 avocados, diced

Mix together and enjoy!  To save for later, it’s best to add a drizzle of lemon juice to keep the avocados from browning.

Mmmm… now I want to make this again…

Vegan Peanut Butter Cups (from Alicia Silverstone’s The Kind Diet) – They’re so good, they’ll make you cry.  More than one person has said they’re better than Reeses (and I agree!).  They weren’t super pretty the first time I made them (pictured).  The second time I made the peanut butter part and then put it in the freezer to harden a bit before I added the chocolate.  I also reduced the amount of chocolate by about half.  It was simply amazing.

Angela’s Pumpkin Butternut Squash Chili – It was even better as leftovers.  For future purposes, I’ll make the chili the day before so the flavors can deepen overnight.  Then I’ll do the pumpkin bowls the day of.

I really need to get a better camera…  Sigh…

