So I think I just realized how busy I’m really going to be these next few years.

Believe it or not, we’re almost to Thanksgiving, which also means we’re getting close to the end of the fall semester at work.  This means it’s time to look ahead to the spring semester.

I just realized how nuts my spring is going to be.  Here’s what I’ve got going on…

  • Teaching two classes – four sections of one, three of the other.  Roughly 140 students total.
  • Working with a student for an independent study
  • Creating a new course for the fall – which is going to be totally awesome, but also a lot of work.
  • Training for the Buffalo Marathon
  • Looking for a house (hooray!)

AND, my big news that I can FINALLY announce…

  • Starting to work on my Ph.D.!

I am super psyched about the Ph.D.  I was on the fence about it for a long time.  It was a huge decision, and of course, being me, I love a lot of things.  I immediately started to second guess everything and was thinking about all these other career possibilities that were completely different (opening a vegan bakery/cafe, or going back to school for exercise science and nutrition).  But when I really sat down and thought about it, I realized that was just because I wasn’t yet confident in myself and my abilities.  Then I realized I’ve come a long way since my previous grad school experiences (geology and education).  And once I realized this, I became much less nervous about committing to a Ph.D. program.

So I took the plunge!

Beginning in December, I’ll be working full time, AND working on my Ph.D.  My field sites are in New Zealand, so I’ll be spending a lot of time there over the next few years (no complaints here!).

I’m sure that the blog will become a little more sporadic – as it has been over the last couple weeks since all the craziness has been kicking in.  But my goal is to write at least one or two times a week.  And hey, when I’m out doing fieldwork, I can put up awesome pictures from New Zealand!

One good thing for the blog – now that I’m going to New Zealand, I HAVE to get a good camera.  There’s no way I’m going to go all the way there and not be able to take amazing pictures.  So no more bad pictures for the blog!  Hooray!

My biggest struggle with all this is going to be finding the time to fit things in.  I’m probably going to have to force myself to start running in the morning (uugh – I like my sleep).  Getting up really early stinks, but I know I’ll be glad I did it.  We’ll see how it goes.

I do have to say, I’ve been having a really hard time getting out to run lately.  I should say I’ve had an impossible time – because I’ve barely run since the marathon (46 miles total since September 27th – yikes).  I’ve learned that if I don’t have a race looming on the horizon, I lose my motivation and other things take precedent – like cleaning, cooking, or spending time with my husband, dogs, and friends.  Fortunately, I’ll have a race looming soon.  I haven’t registered for Buffalo yet, but I’ll need to soon so I have that extra kick to drag my butt out of bed in the morning when it’s cold and dark outside and nice and warm under the covers.  I’m also considering another one at the end of February.  But I’m hesitant to do a winter marathon.  The other downside of that one is that it’s a course where you just run the same loop over and over – 5 times.  BORING!!  Still… if I gets me to stick to my training plan…  Oh, it’s also only $20.  How’s that for a registration fee???  (It’s a very small race – less than 100 finishers.)

Alright, I think I just needed to ramble tonight.

On a completely unrelated note – how excited am I about the Harry Potter movie coming out this coming week???  I already got my tickets for the midnight showing.

