What am I thankful for?

  • My family
  • Great friends
  • My sweet and loving dogs
  • Being healthy
  • Having a job I like, which gives us the ability to keep a roof over our heads and food in our stomachs.
  • That my parents nurtured my interests, and taught be to be an open-minded person.  I didn’t appreciate this until I became an adult.  I have no idea how they did it, but I’m really glad they did!

I didn’t get to write a Thanksgiving day post yesterday because my husband and I were away all day – traveling to Long Island to have dinner with my side of the family, which is always a good time.  It was great to see my parents, sister, and brother-in-law again.  We’re scattered all over the place now, so it’s rare that we’re all together.  Due to an unfortunate combination of events/personal schedules, we won’t be able to see each other for Christmas this year, so my parents brought a few things with them that they wanted us to open early…

Guess who got an awesome camera??  This guy!  Thanks mom and dad! (Oh yeah, and my husband and I set up our tree today.)

My parents got me a really nice camera so I could take it with me to New Zealand when I go for fieldwork in January.  I can’t wait!  It’s a Nikon D3000.  Wohoo!  I’ve been playing with it nonstop, much to the annoyance of my dogs.

Rocket hates the noise it makes.  It’s quite entertaining.

Jade is less than amused, as usual.

I think I’ve taken approximately 15,000,000 pictures of my dogs since I got home last night.

Besides actual Thanksgiving yesterday, I had an early Thanksgiving with my friends on Sunday.  I had three of my favorite people over for dinner, and made a full-on vegan Thanksgiving dinner for everybody.  I had so much fun cooking everything!  I used recipes from Angela (Oh She Glows).  She had a great Thanksgiving recipe round up the other day, and there were so many things that looked delicious, it was hard to pick!

I ended up making

Others brought the stuffing (Pepperidge Farm Country Style with lots of veggies mixed in), gravy (from C’est La Vegan – totally amazing), and dessert (Apple Gingerbread Pie).

I didn’t take pictures of the food because everybody dove in so fast, I never got a chance.  But it was delicious, and I’m sure I’ll do something very similar for Christmas.  And next time I promise I’ll take good pictures.

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving!

