The new year is almost here!  Catching up?  Read the 2009 Year in Review part 1 and part 2.  They’ve been condensed into one this year.

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?

  • Ran a marathon.
  • Decided to go back to school for my Ph.D. finally.
  • Taught a class I’d never taken.
  • Taught an independent study.

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t do new year’s resolutions, but I did set some goals.  Let’s see how I did…

  • Run and complete a half and full marathon. – Done and DONE! And it was awesome!  I have no intention of those being my only ones.  I will definitely continue marathoning.  I’m already registered for my second one at the end of May.
  • Effectively manage our finances. – I think I did a pretty great job of this!  It’s an ongoing process.
  • Get my nutrition in check. – I definitely improved in this category.  By leaps and bounds!!!
  • Get crack-a-lackin’ on my 101 in 1001 list. – I also did pretty well with this one.  It’s nowhere near done yet, but I’m closer!

3. What places did you visit?

  • Venice, Florida – visiting my parents and the Harry Potter park
  • Lake Placid – cheering on my friend in her first marathon (Go Carrie!)
  • Schroon Lake – where I ran my first marathon!
  • Long Island – for Thanksgiving every year
  • Buffalo – our “second home” and where my in-laws live.  Also where I ran my first half marathon (It was supposed to be my first full, but oh well!)

4. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?

  • A house with a yard where I can play with my dogs.
  • A better marathon time!
  • Running injury-free!

5. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

September 26th – the day I became a marathoner

6. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Completing my first marathon!  (I’m sensing a theme here…)

7. What was your biggest failure?

Hmm…  Nothing very major this year, which is good.  I’d have to say falling into a HUGE running rut after my marathon.  But that’s pretty typical.

8. Did you suffer illness or injury?

9. Whose behavior merited celebration?

My family and friends – for supporting and encouraging me through all my training.  And for coming to the race and cheering me on!

10. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Completing my first marathon.  It was a HUGE deal!

11. What song will always remind you of 2010?

  • Magic – by B.o.B. and Rivers Cuomo
  • The Sound of Sunshine – by Michael Franti

12. Compared to this time last year, are you:

a) happier or sadder?

Overall, I’m pretty darn happy with life.  I’m busy, but it’s a good kind of busy.  I figured out a lot of things this year – who I am, what I want out of my life, and what makes me tick.  I can’t complain.

b) thinner or fatter?

About the same.  I’m definitely in better shape overall.  A year of marathon training will do that to you.  I got a little squishy during my two month long post-marathon hiatus, but I’m feeling good and am in the early stages of training for marathon #2, so I’ll get that conditioning back quickly.

c) richer or poorer?

Richer.  But will probably feel very poor soon since we’ll be house hunting this spring – that just seems to make money disappear!

13. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Running, lifting, swimming, cooking, spending quality time with my family, husband, and dogs.

14. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Stressing – about anything.  Particularly beating myself up on days when I didn’t run, or ate junk.

Making excuses

15. Did you fall in love in 2010?

I did!  With our new “puppy,” Rocket!  We brought him home on New Years Day.

16. What was your favorite TV program?

  • So You Think You Can Dance (I ❤ Alex Wong)
  • Glee
  • Stormchasers (Nerd alert!)
  • The Office (I’ve had the theme song as my ringtone for over a year now…)
  • The Next Food Network Star (Hooray for Aarti!  As soon as I found out she was a food blogger, she was my #1!)
  • Amazing Race (I really need to be on this show.)

17. What did you do for your birthday in 2010?

Got a massage, spent time with some friends, had dinner and messy cake with my husband, and played with my awesome new food processor. I turned 27.  When did I get to be in my late 20s???

18. What was the best book you read?

  • Diet for a New America, by John Robbins
  • Born to Run, by Christopher McDougall
  • The Complete Book of Running for Women
  • All my vegan cookbooks.

19. What was your favorite movie of the year?

I’m going to go out on a limb here and say HARRY POTTER 7 (part 1).  DUH.

20. Did you make some new friends this year?

Hooray for Carrie and Chelsea!

And hooray for the continuing awesomeness of Meredith!

21. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Buying a house.  But it STILL wasn’t the right time for us.  Come on spring 2011!!!

22. What kept you sane?

Working out and cooking.

23. What is a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010?

Every day is another chance to start fresh.  Rather than beating yourself up for the choices you made yesterday, do what you can to get back on track. And make the next day the best it can be.

24. THE BEST OF 2010:

a) Recipes (the yummiest cooking from the past year):

Oh my… there’s so many!!!

b) Project (something you started this past year that you’re proud of or really enjoyed):

Making aprons.  They’re pretty adorable.  And now I’ve actually been paid to make them for other people!

I’ll get pictures of people wearing them later.  🙂

c) Best Trip:

I think the winner would be going to the Harry Potter Park with my mom.

d) Night Out:

None really.  I’m not a “night out” kind of person.  I’d prefer a night in with my husband, friends, and/or dogs.

e) Moment of Peace:

Relaxing on the couch with my dogs passed out and sprawled across my lap.

f) The Best Place:

My kitchen.

g) New Food:

Going vegan! There’s no way I could single out one thing.  My whole outlook on food changed this year.

h) Best Accomplishment:

Umm… completing my first marathon???

i) New person/people:

Carrie and Chelsea!  (It says NEW people, Meredith.  You are also my favorite.  But you’re not new.  ❤ you!)

j) Blogs:

25. My goals for 2011:

  • Buy a house!
  • Work on building our savings back up after buying said house.
  • Get working on my Ph.D.
  • Continue cooking and experimenting in the kitchen.  Get better at creating recipes myself.
  • Run more marathons!
  • Run injury-free
