Or should I say yum yum?

We are about to get blasted with snow!  The little kid in me is extremely excited.  I figure, as long as I don’t have to go anywhere, big snowstorms are really fun!  On my way to work today I was listening to the weather report on the radio and they’re predicting somewhere in the range of 2+ feet for us.  When I heard that, I decided that it’s just not worth trying to drive in to work tomorrow, so I canceled my classes for Wednesday and Thursday.  (They are the same class, so if one day is canceled, the other has to be canceled too.  It’s a little present for the Thursday folks.)  I’m calling it a preemptive strike.  After teaching my classes for the day, I headed home and dug out all our flashlights and batteries just in case we lose power tomorrow from all the heavy snow.

Tonight’s meal plan called for the PPK‘s tempeh “crab” cakes – a much-loved standby in our house.  But I am nearly out of veganaise (a tragedy in our house), and not about to go outside to get some.  I actually plan on staying inside until Thursday morning, thankyouverymuch.  So I decided to make Thursday’s dinner a little early – an adaptation of Sweet Chili Lime Tofu from Vegan YumYum.

The recipe calls for quinoa and collard greens.  However, I had a pathetic amount of quinoa left and no collard greens.  So it was orzo and spinach for us!  It came out great.  I have no idea how it would taste with the quinoa, but I absolutely loved the orzo.

Definitely a make-again recipe.  I enjoyed watching my husband scrape every last bit of food off his plate.  That’s always a good sign.

In other news, we put an offer in on a house tonight.  Hooray!  We’ll see what happens…  Keep your appendages crossed.  🙂

