The other night I was talking to my husband about finding the motivation to start working out.  I love him dearly, but he is not an active person at all, and that is the one thing that always drives me nuts.  He says he wants to do things like run, but then he won’t do them.  He can never seem find the motivation to break out of that sedentary lifestyle that he’s become accustomed to.

When we were talking about this the other night, I found myself saying “Sometimes, the motivation just isn’t there, and you have to FORCE yourself to just do it.  The motivation comes with time.”  Now, I’m not sure if that’s really the best way to describe it.  I would think that if someone is going to make a change in their lifestyle, it’s for a reason.  The hard part is finding the WILL to stick to that change.  And I think that’s what I meant when I said that.  Just because you have a reason to get off the couch and do something doesn’t mean that you have the will to actually see it through.  And that’s where you just have to say “I have to do this.  I don’t have a choice.”  And then after you do it for a while, it becomes a habit, and you find yourself having to force it less and less.

Sure, there’s still days where you just don’t want to do it, but they’re not nearly as often as they were in the beginning.

This has been something I’ve been struggling with lately as well.  Since I’ve started up my training, I’ve been finding it tough to make myself do my runs.  I’ve gotten better in the last week or so, but there always seems to be an excuse lurking somewhere.  I need to kick that habit.  Between it being winter and crappy weather and dark by the time I get home, and having long days at work, and trying to work on Ph.D. stuff too, by the end of the day, I just don’t want to run.  Also, I absolutely ADORE my clocky, but it seems to give my husband a heart attack every time it goes off in the morning, so I feel extremely guilty using it all the time.  But MAN does that thing work!  He’s getting better about not freaking out when it goes off though, so there’s improvement…

But with all those factors, it’s so easy to say “oh, I’ll do it tomorrow…”  And then the next day, and the next day.  Until you find you haven’t done anything you wanted to do or needed to do.

I decided that I was overwhelming myself with starting up my running, lifting, AND swimming all at once.  I need to get some confidence back first.  I was setting myself up for failure by trying to do too much at once.  And when I would get overwhelmed, I just wouldn’t do ANYTHING.

So for February, I am just getting my running groove on.  I’ll start lifting in March, and I’ll work my swimming in beginning in April.  I think that should work out nicely.

I’ve had a good week this week with my runs.  I had to push them back a bit so my long run for this past week will actually be tomorrow night, but then I’m right back on schedule.  I’m feeling much more confident now that I’ve gotten a solid week of scheduled runs in, and I’m thinking this coming week I won’t have to force myself to get on the treadmill as much.  It’s been a long time since I’ve really trained consistently (since the end of September!), and I’m starting to remember how good it feels, how happy I am, and how strong I feel when I’m running.  And, for me, THAT’S where the will to run comes from.

Also, house update:  after several days of negotiating, the sellers accepted our offer on Saturday!  So this week is attorney review, inspections, and mortgage paperwork.  We’re not anticipating any surprises during the inspections (everything looks pretty solid), so if all goes smoothly we should be closing sometime in mid-March!  Yay!

