Wohoo!  This has been a good week.  First, it was gorgeous out!  It’s so exciting when it gets warm after a brutally cold winter – even if it is just a teaser.  Everybody was so excited this week when it hit the 40s and then the 50s, and then 60!  But I kept having to remind myself that it wasn’t going to last, and winter will be back to hit us at least one more time before spring arrives.  That’s how it always works.

With this gorgeous weather, I was actually able to get an outside run in this week!  It was very exciting to be able to run with Chelsea and our dogs (they are best buds and loooooooooove to play for hours on end).  And the dogs absolutely loved it too.

So far this week I’ve gotten all my shorter runs in.  Here’s the recap:

Run 1 – 4 miles at 9:45/mile, 2 miles in my Vibrams

Run 2 – 4 miles at 9:45/mile, 2.5 miles in my Vibrams, outside with Chelsea and the dogs on a beautiful 60 degree day.  Yay!

Run 3 – 4 miles at 9:42/mile, this one was completely in my Vibrams.

Tomorrow I’ll do my longer run for the week – 6 miles.  I’m still painfully behind where I hoped to be at this point, but I’m still on track to be ready for Buffalo.  I just won’t have as much cushion (extra weeks) built into my schedule in case of illness, etc.

I’m trying to keep my pace on my runs consistently below 10:00/mile, and so far it’s going well.  I’ll have to see how it goes when I get into my longer runs in a few weeks, but I think it will be good.  Now that I have one marathon under my belt and I know I can do the distance, I have some other goals besides just to finish.  I like to put them into a little progression (bare minimum for me to call it a success -> ideal perfect day).  So here they are:

Bare bones: Finish, run pain free, have fun, run faster than I did at the Adirondack Marathon

Good day: Finish under 4:30 (under a 10:18/mile pace – totally do-able)

Great day: Finish under 4:15 (under a 9:45/mile pace – also do-able, but tougher)

So far things are going well.  My heel is a little sore, so the plantar fasciitis isn’t completely gone, but I know how to keep it under control, so it should be alright.

The other big challenge I’m facing is improving my food intake.  Since it’s winter, I’ve been eating horribly – lots of comfort foods (read: toast with peanut butter), and not many fruits and vegetables.  But now that I’ve realized that, I’m focusing on changing it.

Also, a house update:  We are done with attorney review, and have done our inspection and appraisal.  I haven’t heard about the appraisal outcome yet, but that should be fine.  Our inspection went really well, and now we’re just waiting on the mortgage paperwork to be processed.  I’ve already got all the projects I want to do in that house planned out, and I’m itching to get into it and make it our home!

