My goodness, I haven’t written anything in a long time!

I got quite sidetracked with our new house (still am), and any free moment I’ve had has been spent working on the yard, or on something else around the house. It’s been very exhausting, but also a lot of fun. And now I totally understand my dad’s lawn obsession – it appears to be genetic. We inherited a total mess, and are making very slow (but good) progress, one day at a time.

Here’s a little of what we’ve been working on… (More to come later – this is all I have pictures of for now.)

The master bedroom

(I had fun making lots of pillows and may have gotten a little carried away…)

I still have to make the curtains, we need to finish painting a few spots where we took the wall out, and we need to clean up the floor that was under the wall, but it’s mostly done and we’re happy with it.

Oddly enough, I’ve had so much fun working in the yard.  I never expected to, since whenever I was forced (that’s right mom, I said it) to do yardwork when I was younger, I really hated it.  But somewhere along the line, that changed, and now I’m totally into it.  We’ve been slowly cleaning things up, transplanting random plants that have popped up (mostly hostas and lily of the valley), growing grass, raking leaves, tilling for the garden, picking up lots of dead branches (lots of good bonfires – we finally get to use our fire pit that we got for our wedding a year and a half ago!), and lots more.  I’ve also had a blast getting my seedlings started for the garden.  I got a whole bunch of things and figured I’d just see what actually grew and go from there, but now everything is growing and I’m going to have WAY too many seedlings to fit into my garden.  Any local people want some seedlings???

My seedlings on May 17th

My seedlings just three days later, on May 20th!  Woot!

So far, this is what’s growing: lettuce, basil, dill, chives, oregano, parsley, thyme (all herbs and lettuce are outside in a planter box, not pictured), sunflowers, broccoli, carrots, onions, leeks, tomatoes, cucumber, watermelon, cantaloupe, butternut squash, acorn squash, crookneck squash, zucchini, and corn (YAY!)

Not growing yet: eggplant, red peppers, chili peppers, mint, rosemary (we’ll see what happens with these…)

I’m learning a lot as I go, so please feel free to share any hints you may have.  I’m all ears.  Climate-wise, I live in zone 5.

Phew, now that I’ve got that house stuff out of my system… back to your regularly scheduled programming!

Chelsea and I did our 20 miler two weeks ago.  It was quite fun.  We had a beautiful day for it, and just enjoyed the great day and fun conversation.  The 20 miles flew by, and I was so proud of us.  We did a very hilly route, and ran the entire way up a two mile long uphill – and it was well into the second half of the run.  Chelsea did great and it was a real confidence-booster for her, which I was happy to see.

The marathon is next weekend, and we’re all ready to go.  I told Chelsea I’d run it with her as long as she stayed positive.  Sometimes she gets grumpy on runs and starts telling me she hates me.  Not so fun.  But when we’re done, it’s back to all smiles.  But Positive Chelsea has been sticking around on our runs lately, which makes them very pleasant.  I’m looking forward to next weekend.  I think it’ll be a fun day and a good run.  I’m not going to be pushing the speed, but plan to try and finish in around 4:45.  This is Chelsea’s first marathon, so we’ll just roll with it.

I’m trying to decide what I want to do after Buffalo.  At some point this summer I’d like to try a triathlon.  And I know I’d like to do another marathon this fall.  But I have no idea which.  I was contemplating a fall ultramarathon a while back, but I’ve decided to push that back one more year.  There’s going to be a lot of things going on this summer, with teaching a summer course, and research, and creating a brand new fall class, plus working on house stuff.  I don’t think I could train for an ultra properly.  Somehow I’ve managed to make a mess of my marathon training and still come out okay in the end, but I’d rather not do that for an ultra.  And I’d also really love to actually train for a marathon properly and see what I can do.

I feel like if I actually took the time to train properly, I could be a good athlete.  But life always gets in the way.  Someday I’ll get there.

