Well, that’s not true.  I did take two weeks off.

The other night, I registered for marathon #3.  It’s funny – two years ago, I had never even considered running a marathon.  The thought had never even come close to crossing my mind.  Now, I’m addicted.

There seem to be two types of marathoners.  There’s the person who runs one, crosses the finish line, and says “never again!”  Then there’s the person who runs one, crosses the finish line, and says “when’s the next one??”  I immediately fell into the second group.  As soon as I crossed the finish line at Schroon last year, I thought “oh I can do better than that!”  And I’ve been going ever since.

I had been trying to decide what marathon I wanted to do this fall.  There’s so many great ones, it’s hard to pick.  But my heart lies in Schroon Lake.  I absolutely loved that race last year.  It’s beautiful, challenging, and really well organized and supported.  So I signed up to run it again this fall.  Seeing as it was my first marathon, and it’s not far from where I live, I kind of feel like it’s my home turf.  Which makes it all the more appealing.  (Also, less expensive since we don’t have to travel for it.)

So as of this week, I’m back into full training mode.  I didn’t have the soreness that I did after my first marathon, and I recovered very quickly, so that was a pleasant surprise.  Now that it’s summer and I’m not teaching my regular full courseload, I have some more free time so I can really train properly.  I can’t wait to train well and see what I’m really capable of.  So here’s the training plan:

  • Run: 4 times a week (Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, long run on the weekend)
  • Lift: New Rules of Lifting for Women, 3 times a week (Monday, Wednesday, Friday)
  • Swim (cross training): 2 times a week (Monday, Friday)

I also went a little overboard with my eating while I was training for Buffalo (runger is a bitch) and gained about 5 pounds.  So I really need to get that in check as well.  It makes me feel so sluggish when I run.  But I’ll get back to normal soon enough.

