I’ve been back in training mode for a week now and it’s feeling great.  I’m always experimenting with different ways to keep myself motivated and on track, and I’ve found one that seems to be working well.

I made myself a weekly goal chart:

I have two “rewards” for myself.  One if I finish the week with all the white boxes checked, and another if I end with extras checked.  Seeing as I’m a perfectionist and an overachiever, I don’t want to end the week without checking all the boxes, so I’ve been getting out and doing all the things that I said I was going to do.  Last week, I did all my lifting, all my swimming, all my running, and took the dogs for a long walk every single day.  This was a HUGE improvement over the last several weeks.  I definitely found myself snapping out of a lazy funk and saying, “okay, I HAVE to go do this right now or I’m going to regret it later.”

Hooray!

On a side note:  I LOVE DOGS.  So much so that I have two.  BUT, when people leave their dogs unattended in their front yards and I’m out running or walking with mine, that is NOT COOL.  Last night my husband and I were out running/biking with the dogs and a random dog came tearing out of its yard and started going nuts in the middle of the road at Jade and Rocket.  The owner was nowhere to be seen.  I ended up having to scream “PLEASE COME GET YOUR DOG!” at the top of my lungs.  Twice.  After the first time the woman came to the door and stood there and watched.

After she got her dog, there was no “hey, sorry about that” or anything even spoken to us.  I was shocked.  If either of our dogs had chased down another dog, I would be apologizing profusely.  Who doesn’t apologize after something like that?

Rant over.

I hate to end on a rant, but I’m tired and need to get to bed so I can run in the morning tomorrow.  This summer weather is killer for afternoon runs.

