My birthday is next week, so I wanted to take a minute to look back on my 27th year – it was a good one.

This past year I made a few HUGE changes to myself and my life…

  1. I ran my first marathon, and then my second.
  2. My husband and I bought our first house.

And just because it was awesome…  I went to New Zealand for three weeks.

I have a lot of things in store for my 28th year.  I want to push myself to continue to improve and grow as both an athlete, and as a cook.  I always like to make goal lists.  There’s something nice about seeing things written out right in front of you.  So here’s some things I’d like to do in this upcoming year:

  1. Complete marathon #3 – I’m currently training hard for a second pass at the Adirondack Marathon this September.  I loved that race so much last year and I can’t wait to run it again!
  2. Complete The New Rules of Lifting for Women program – I’m almost done with stage 1, and I’m loving it so far!
  3. Complete my first triathlon – I’ve been swimming and biking a lot in addition to my marathon training, and this coming spring, I plan on completing some triathlons.  Eventually, I’d love to complete a half Ironman and an Ironman.  I’ll get there someday!
  4. Cook my way through Veganomicon – One of my favorite cookbooks, and a “must-have” for any vegan.  It contains 242 recipes (yes, I just sat there and counted the whole table of contents), which I should be able to get through within the year (yes, very “Julie and Julia,” minus the dairy, veal, killing of lobsters and whatnot).  I LOVE everything that Isa and Terry make – I wish they would come be my friends who would cook for me every day!  I’ll start the day after my birthday and go from there.

So, 27, you’ve been good to me.  It’s been a great year.  I’m looking forward to the next one.

Now, I’m off to the midnight showing of Harry Potter!  WOHOOOOOO!

