I feel like I’ve been so sporadic lately!  My summer work is officially done as of yesterday and now it’s time to train, train, train.  This summer I taught a 5 week class, and then did a 5 week research program with one of my students.  Now I still have lots of work to do, but no set meetings so everything is very flexible.

I’ve been starting to get back into cooking again.  It was hard for a while because we bought the house and moved, everything was a mess, and the kitchen was pretty empty for a while there.  But as of today we’ve been in the house for four months, and we’re feeling pretty settled.  Things are clean(ish) and the kitchen is stocked(ish), and I’m ready to get back into the kitchen and try new recipes.

Over the last couple days I’ve made some great dinners straight out of Veganomicon.  I love that cookbook so much.  Everyone should have a copy in their kitchen.

Dinner #1:  Greek-style Tomato-Zucchini Fritters with Fresh Herbs and Mediterranean-style Cashew-Cucumber Dip and green beans

These. were. AWESOME.  After his first bite, my husband said he thought it was the best vegan meal he had ever had (thus far…).  He then polished off his plate and ran back into the kitchen for more.  I decided to bake them instead of fry.  They still came out great. (recipe)

Dinner #2:  Broccoli-Millet Croquettes with Grilled Asparagus

The fritters were my husband’s favorite vegan meal…  Until I made these two nights later.  I was going to make them with the Dill-Tahini Sauce (Isa and Terry also suggest White Bean Aioli, but I’m a sucker for dill), but realized I was out of tahini after it was too late.  They were still awesome just on their own.  I can’t wait to try them again with the sauce! (recipe)

On the training side of things, I went for a run with one of my coworker friends yesterday.  He’s 6’4″ and his legs are about twice the length of mine (I’m only 5 feet tall), so I was pushing faster than I would on a normal run – and it was great!  I liked running with him because it made me push myself (speed-wise) beyond what I would do alone.  We ended up doing 6 miles at a 9:15/mile pace.  The first four miles were actually around 9:00/mile, but I slowed down a little for the last two.

This weekend I’ve got a 16 miler to do.  It’s been terrible here lately with crazy heat, but things seem to have cooled off a bit.  I hope it lasts through the weekend!  I don’t handle heat well at all.

On top of the running, I finally got a road bike!  Wohooooo!

Mine is silver and blue, but you get the idea.  It’s a Specialized Dolce 48cm.  So far, I love it!  Until a few weeks ago, I’d been riding a mountain bike with slicks, and it was ROUGH.  But this thing is like riding on air!

I should be calling it a night though.  My sleep patterns are all out of whack and I really need to get back to normal.  I hope you are all having a fantastic summer so far!

