Stop the presses!  I have found the most amazing ice cream recipe on the planet.

Yesterday, I was wandering around town, and on a whim, I decided to go into the library.  I spent a while puttering around and ended up coming out with seven books.

Whoops.

One of those books was “The Vegan Scoop” by Wheeler Del Torro.

Of course, I couldn’t resist, so I then immediately went to the grocery store to grab some soy creamer (I don’t drink coffee, so I never have creamer at home.  Also, I hate the taste of coconut, so coconut creamer is a no-no for me).  When I got home, I grabbed our ice cream maker (hooray for wedding presents!) and got to work.

Of course, being me, I HAD to start with the Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl ice cream.  Duh.

By the time it was done churning, I needed to go to bed, so I popped it in the freezer and went off to dream about amazing vegan ice cream that was unlike anything I had ever tasted before.  I’ve always been just a TAD disappointed with vegan ice cream.  So my hopes were high.

First thing this morning, I pulled it out of the freezer to check the texture – it looked perfect!

It’s a beautiful summer day, and I figured delicious ice cream would be a great way to finish off my lunch.  But I was really just too excited to wait until dinner.  🙂

So I scooped…

It was creamy.  It scooped like magic.

I resisted the urge to pile tons of it into a huge bowl and devour it all in one sitting.

I even managed to contain myself long enough to take a picture!

And then I dove in.

After the first bite, I think I was in love.  I had to stop and just close my eyes for a second to enjoy the flavor.

It was rich.  It was decadent.  It was creamy and smooth.

It was bliss.

It was gone in ten seconds.

I can’t wait to make another one!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Ice Cream from “The Vegan Scoop”

  • 1 cup soymilk
  • 2 tbsp arrowroot powder
  • 1 cup soy creamer
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  1. Combine the arrowroot powder with 1/4 cup of the soymilk.  Set aside.
  2. In a saucepan, mix remaining soymilk, creamer, sugar, cocoa, and chocolate chips.  Melt the chocolate over low heat.  Remove from heat as soon as it begins to boil.
  3. Add in the arrowroot mixture and vanilla.  This should cause the mixture to thicken.
  4. Chill in the refrigerator for 2 hours.  Once chilled, follow the directions on your ice cream maker to freeze.  Add in peanut butter in the last few minutes of freezing.
  5. Devour!
