I’m feeling much better.  I took a few days off from running to work out whatever the heck it was that was plaguing my right foot.  Initially, I thought it was my plantar fasciitis coming back, but then the more I paid attention to it, that didn’t seem quite right.  Then I thought, pulled muscle?  But it went away in about two days, which seems way too fast for a pulled muscle.

We were talking about it at Crossfit on Tuesday, and someone said maybe it was a really bad cramp from being dehydrated.  So I went home and drank a lot of water, rested, and wouldn’t you know it, my foot started feeling much better by the end of the day.  Wednesday morning, it still wasn’t quite right, but significantly better.  And by that night, cramp was gone.

Usually I carry a water bottle around with me, and I regularly drink over 100 ounces of water a day.  But for a few days there, I hadn’t been doing that. I’m surprised I felt it so dramatically, but after just a day or two back to my regular water intake, I was feeling much better.  Good to know.

Monday morning I went out for a short 4 mile run around my neighborhood.  I’ve learned not to look at my pace while I run.  I just go based on how I’m feeling, and when I’m done, then I let myself look.

Well, on my run that morning, I did 4 miles at a 9:01/mile pace.  And I felt good!  The first three miles were at an 8:56/mile pace, but my last mile had a big uphill, so I slowed down a bit.  But overall, I’ve improved a lot since this time last year!  I’m really excited!

Here’s the splits:

  • Mile 1 – 8:45
  • Mile 2 – 8:50
  • Mile 3 – 9:12
  • Mile 4 – 9:16 (big hill)

Then, tonight after work, I went out for a nice 5 miler, again around my neighborhood.  I didn’t feel like I was really pushing the speed too much, but I ended up doing the first 4 miles at a 9:07/mile pace, and then busted my butt on the last mile to try and get it below 9:00/mile.  I ended up with a 8:58/mile average pace.  Booyah!

Here’s the splits for tonight:

  • Mile 1 – 8:53
  • Mile 2 – 9:05
  • Mile 3 – 9:06
  • Mile 4 – 9:24 (big hill)
  • Mile 5 – 8:20 (heck yeah!)

How much do I love that my slower pace going up a huge half mile long hill is 9:24???  I’ve come a long way since this time last year.

This week last year, I ran

  • 5 miles at 11:16/mile
  • 4 miles at 12:12/mile
  • 6 miles at 10:44/mile
  • 18 miles at 10:14/mile

I don’t know about my pace for my long run this weekend.  We’ll have to see how that goes.  But my last long run was 14 miles at 9:38/mile, so I’ve definitely improved on the long runs too.

I always used to be so amazed with women I knew who ran in the 8’s and faster.  It always seemed like some unobtainable goal for me.  It’s still amazing and very inspiring, but I no longer feel like I’ll never get there.  I know I can.  It’s just going to take some time and hard work.  But I’ll get there!

