I appear to have lost my running mojo.  And I don’t know where it went.

Lately I have had a very hard time getting myself to run.  I end up doing two or three short runs a week, and missing everything else.  And then I feel guilty and crappy and down on myself.  And the cycle continues.  I’m guessing it’s because of the dreadful performance at this year’s Adirondack Marathon – stupid cold.  Since then I’ve been feeling very down on my running.

So what’s a girl to do?  I have absolutely no idea.

I could try taking a few weeks off from running.  Although, I’m already kind of doing that – I guess it would just be official.  I don’t have any major races coming up until March – I just registered for the DC Rock and Roll Marathon last week.

I also managed to get the unforeseen financial issues worked out (I was being charged a ridiculous amount of money for something that made absolutely no sense) and am once again able to do CrossFit at my local box – which is completely fantastic.  So perhaps I’ll focus on that for a few weeks and just run for fun whenever the mood strikes me.  I don’t need to start training for DC until early December-ish, so that could give me some time to relax and get back to enjoying running again.

Oops, I actually just pulled out my calendar and counted back 20 weeks from the DC marathon and it turns out I’ll be starting this round of training in about a week.  Surprise!

Apparently I’ll just keep going and power through.  🙂  Eventually the runs will get better.  Sometimes you just have a spell of crappy ones.

Also, I really need to cook meals more often.  I haven’t been doing that much lately and I feel like crap from all the snacky food that I’ve been eating.  It’s not so much junk food, but there’s been a severe deficiency of veggies in my diet lately and that needs to be remedied ASAP.

Okay, goals for this upcoming week:

1) Keep enjoying CrossFit!  I love the people at my box and as hard as it is to drag my butt out of bed when it’s cold and still pitch black out, it’s so worth it.  More to come on this in the future.

2) Cook at least three dinners with fresh veggies.  I will feel soooooo much better.  I feel so sluggish lately because my eating habits have been so out of whack.  And I know that is playing a huge role in my recent spurt of inactivity.  When I feel like crap, I act like crap, and make one unhealthy decision after another.

3) Split my short runs in half and do each half with one of the dogs.  I can’t run them together because it gets to be a TAD much dog barreling down the road for me to really run properly.  But individually, they’re great running partners.  I think this will make my short runs much more fun and enjoyable, which is what I really need right now.

Those seem like decent goals.  I’ll stick with that for this upcoming week and see how it goes.

