I actually had a decent run tonight!  It’s been a while!  It’s always exciting when you finally have a run that doesn’t suck after a long string of crappy ones.

It was a simple little 4 miler on the treadmill, but I decided to slow it down just a little bit (by 30 seconds per mile) and that made all the difference.  My legs didn’t feel heavy anymore, and I didn’t feel like crap.  Hooray!

I definitely tend to push my speed when I’m doing shorter runs, especially on the treadmill.  But not every run can be for speedwork.  For me, constantly doing speedwork = burn out.  I need to remember that.

So for these next few weeks of training it’ll be nice and slow(ish) and just getting the miles in.  Unfortunately, I can’t get into the pool until the end of January unless I get a gym membership or am constantly getting day passes to the Y, which adds up.  I’m fortunate that I get free gym and pool access at work, but since the semester is over, the pool is closed until classes start back up again at the end of January.  Bummer.  However, when it’s open, I have a whole pool almost completely to myself, which is awesome.

On the biking side of things, I spent some time today checking out trainers at all my local bike shops.  I’m trying to decide between the CycleOps Mag+, CycleOps Magneto, CycleOps Fluid 2, or the Kurt Kinetic Road Machine.  I’m leaning toward the Kurt because I’ve heard nothing but great things about it.  Any suggestions?

