Well, it’s Christmas Eve and we are here visiting my sister and her husband in DC.  It’s delightfully warm here (relatively speaking, that is) and it’s been great getting out for some runs in a new neighborhood.  On the down side, their neighborhood is CRAZY HILLY!!!  And I thought ours was bad.  Oh my goodness.  But it’s a great hill workout!

Since I’ve been here I’ve gotten in two nice slow 5 milers, and tomorrow I’ll do an 8 sometime in the afternoon.  I’ve met some of their (very nice) neighbors while out running and apparently there’s a group meeting on Monday for a morning run, which I’d like to tag along with as well.  So even though we’re on vacation, I’m staying plenty active.

The other challenge has been managing my sweet tooth, especially during the holiday season.  Now that I’m delving into the world of Ironman, I really don’t want to have to carry any extra weight for that 140.6 miles.  So I’m trying to pay more attention to what I’m eating.  I’m a big bored/mindless/habitual/emotional eater, so I’m trying to be very purposeful.  It’s been a couple days and I think I’m over the hump.  In the beginning I have a hard time breaking those sugar cravings (SO REAL), but once I get past it, things are much easier.  It also helps that I’m the only vegan in the house here and there’s absolutely nothing vegan to eat.  So even though the cookies look great, and there’s lots of them, I have an easy time passing them up.

Although, what’s the holiday season without a little baked deliciousness?  I’m going to make a batch of Peanut Butter Pillows (best cookies EVER) for everyone to enjoy tonight, and also a batch of Angela’s Pumpkin Pie Cinnamon Rolls for breakfast tomorrow.  I made these for Christmas last year and it was absolutely incredible.  There are no words to describe it.  You just have to make them yourself.  I highly recommend it.

Anyway, I’m off to start baking.  Have a happy holiday!

