Well, another year has passed – time to wrap it up:

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?

  • Went to New Zealand
  • Bought a house – and all the things/projects that go along with it
  • Hosted a party for 35-40 people

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t do new year’s resolutions, but I did set some goals.  Let’s see how I did…

  • Buy a house! – Check!
  • Work on building our savings back up after buying said house. – Check!
  • Get working on my Ph.D. – Yes and no.  I started it, went to New Zealand, checked out my field sites, got all registered and set up as an official student, and then promptly found out I had no funding – while I was standing there, on the other side of the planet.  Awesome.  Long story short, I had to withdraw because there was no funding to pay for my tuition.  But that’s okay.  Perhaps down the road things will work out better.
  • Continue cooking and experimenting in the kitchen.  Get better at creating recipes myself. – Not so much.  I’ve been cooking, but not attempting my own recipes.  Perhaps in 2012?
  • Run more marathons! – Check!  I ran marathon #2 with Chelsea in May (read here)There was also a failed attempt at marathon #3 due to illness (read here).
  • Run injury-free – I’m going to put this down as a success.  I didn’t have any injuries that prevented me from racing.  There were little things here and there, but nothing debilitating.  So all in all, a success!

Overall, not bad!

3. What places did you visit?

  • Schroon Lake – I loved it in 2010, so I attempted to run the marathon there again.  Too bad I got sick the week before.
  • New Zealand – Woooooohoooooo!  There are no words that can describe how totally awesome this was.  If my husband and dogs hadn’t been here, I never would have come back.

4. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

I’m going to stick with a better marathon time!

5. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

April 4th – the day we closed on our first house

6. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Buying our first house (I’m sensing a theme here…)

7. What was your biggest failure?

I really wouldn’t say there were any this year.  There were little things here and there (illness before/on race day, random little injuries, etc.), but nothing really terrible.  Some might say the Ph.D. thing was a failure, but I don’t really consider it to be one.  That was just a weird combination of circumstances that all added up to things not working.  But I wouldn’t call it a failure on my part.

Also, like last year, I didn’t run much after the ADK marathon this year, and I’d love to be better at not falling into ruts.  There’s something to work on, I guess.

8. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Injury – Not really.  Random annoying aches and pains, but nothing major

Illness – Unfortunately.  I ended up not being able to shake a cold for one of this year’s marathons, which ended up with a big old DNF.  Bummer.

9. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Just like last year, my family and friends – for supporting and encouraging me through all my training.  And for coming to the race and cheering me on!

10. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Buying our first house.  It was a HUGE deal!

11. What song will always remind you of 2011?

I’m not proud, but anything by Ke$ha.

:: Hangs head in shame ::

12. Compared to this time last year, are you:

a) happier or sadder?

My answer from 2010 stays: Overall, I’m pretty darn happy with life.

b) thinner or fatter?

Probably about the same.  I think 2012 will be good for this…  Ironman training, anyone?

c) richer or poorer?

At this exact point in time?  Poorer, but that’s not by much and is due to the fact that we bought a house this year.  But things are just fine and right on track.

13. What do you wish you’d done more of?

I’m keeping my answer from last year.  Running, lifting, swimming, cooking, spending quality time with my family, husband, and dogs.

14. What do you wish you’d done less of?

I’m also keeping my answer from last year here.  It applies to many areas of my life.

Stressing – about anything.  Particularly beating myself up on days when I didn’t run, or ate junk.

Making excuses

15. Did you fall in love in 2011?

Not particularly.  However, I am even more appreciative of my great husband who is exceptionally handy around the house with projects.

16. What was your favorite TV program?

  • How I Met Your Mother
  • The Big Bang Theory (Why did I resist this show at first???)
  • Glee
  • Amazing Race (I really need to be on this show.)

17. What did you do for your birthday in 2011?

My husband took me to a local vegetarian/vegan restaurant that he found.  It was very sweet.

18. What was the best book you read?

Hmm… I know it’s totally weird and out there, but one of my coworkers is a big gardener, and I’ve gotten into it now that we have a house.  He found an old book and gave it to me and I read it cover to cover:  Square Foot Gardening by Mel Bartholomew.  I was already basing my garden on this method anyway, and there was a ton of useful ideas in there.  I’d definitely recommend it.  And hey, we’ll see how the garden does in 2012!

19. What was your favorite movie of the year?

No contest.  HARRY POTTER 7 (part 2).  DUH.

20. Did you make some new friends this year?

Not particularly.

21. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

A better marathon time.  Come on DC RnR marathon!!

22. What kept you sane?

Working out and cuddling with my dogs.  One look at their adorable little faces always cheers me up or calms me down.

23. What is a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011?

DON’T STRESS SO MUCH

24. THE BEST OF 2011:

a) Recipes (the yummiest cooking from the past year):

Without a doubt, this vegan ice cream.

b) Project (something you started this past year that you’re proud of or really enjoyed):

All of our house projects!

c) Best Trip:

New Zealand, no contest.

d) Night Out:

I’m not a “night out” kind of person.  I’d prefer a night in with my husband, friends, and/or dogs.

e) Moment of Peace:

I still love relaxing on the couch with my dogs passed out and sprawled across my lap – like right now.  🙂

f) The Best Place:

Anywhere with my friends or family.

g) New Food:

Discovering how to make amazing vegan Duff’s “chicken” wings and blue cheese dipping sauce.

h) Best Accomplishment:

Buying our first house and getting started on house projects.

i) New person/people:

None in particular, but I’m sure I’ll meet plenty of awesome new people in 2012.  I’m looking forward to working with my DC RnR training group through No Meat Athlete, and I’ll be joining my local triathlon club.

25. My goals for 2012:

  • A better marathon time!
  • Complete my first Ironman triathlon!
  • Train and race injury-free.
  • Cook more actual meals – there are too many “fend for yourself” nights in our house.
