Now that the DC RnR is behind me, it’s time to turn my attention to triathlon training.  EEK!

I am still contemplating running the Lake Placid marathon in June, but it’s on my husband’s birthday, so that’s really up to him.  It’s definitely a possibility though.  It’s a nice course, and it would be fun to have another marathon this year.

As for tris, I have quite a few this year…

I’m also volunteering at the Lake Placid Ironman this year, which will be a fun way to spend my 29th birthday.  I was originally going to sign up for the 2013 LP Ironman the day after, but I’m going to do the HITS Cooperstown full iron (I’ve been hearing good things about their most recent race!) in 2013, and those are too close together.  So Lake Placid will have to wait until 2014.

As for training, I feel confident in my running abilities.  So the most important things for me to focus on in these upcoming months are my swimming and biking.

The next month will be base training, just working on technique and increasing my distances a bit, as well as getting down to a good race weight (I’m not in bad shape, but it could be better.  And I’d rather not carry any extra weight for 140.6 miles).  Once April 30th hits, I’m 25 weeks out from my ironman, and then the real training will begin.  At the moment, I’m planning on using the Beginner Triathlete full iron plan.  It’s a 20 week plan, and I always start a few weeks early so that way I have some cushion for things like illness and injury.

The hardest thing in these next few weeks will be the same problem I had all through the DC RnR training – just fitting it in around my work schedule.  It’s not really a huge problem.  I have the time.  It’s just a matter of developing better habits.  I work pretty much 9 to 5, but I teach, so by the end of the day, the last thing I want to do is be on my feet some more.  But I’m alsoterrible about waking up early.  Every morning I set two alarms – the early one, and the one I know I’ll actually get up for.  But that has to end.  I love it when I actuallydo get up early and get my workout in because I feel so accomplished after and the day has barely even started.  But that’s hard to remember when I’m nice and warm under the covers.

I wish that clocky didn’t almost give my husband a heart attack every time it went off.  That thing was the best.  It scared the crap out of me every time it went off, but it did it’s job for sure!

The other thing that will be a challenge is cleaning up and paying more attention to my food intake.  I’ve been eating everything in site for the last couple months, and not in a good way.  If I don’t pay attention to what I’m eating, I tend to fall back into the habit of eating lots of snacky foods (or “snacky snacks” as my husband likes to call them).  But it really only takes a few days of eating better for the sugar and junk cravings to go away, thank goodness.

I guess that means I need to pawn all the leftover snacks in my office off on my students ASAP.   They’re in college, hungry, and broke (it’s almost the end of the year, and by now they have no money left for fun, or food).  It’s a good setup for getting rid of food.

