Tonight I did my first long swim in my ironman training plan.  I was definitely a little nervous, but I got my butt in the pool and knocked it out without a problem.  What a great surprise!

All distances are in yards.  I swim in a 25 yard pool so one lap (down and back) is 50 yards:

  • Warmup: 200 swim, 200 kick (uugh!), 200 pull (so awkward with that float thing), 200 swim
  • Main set: 1 x 1500 (30 laps)
  • Cool down: 4 x 50, each slower than the last
  • Total distance: 2500 yards (50 laps, or 1.42 miles)
  • Total time: about 1 hour (surprisingly less than I expected)

Honestly, I think the worst part was that stupid 200 kick!  My hips/quads were exhausted!

I’m a big believer in mind games.  So instead of counting 30 laps, I broke it up into 6 (continuous) sets of 5 laps.  I did this for two reasons:

  1. It seems shorter that way
  2. It’s a hell of a lot easier to count 🙂

Nevertheless, I did lose count a few times.  Whenever this happens, I always assume I’m on the lower number, because a few extra laps won’t kill me.  So I may have done up to four extra laps.  But hey, what’s an extra 200 yards?

I was surprised that I actually felt very strong at the end.  It was great!  I tried to pay attention to my form.  I am by no means a great swimmer.  I manage.  But I have a lot of improving to do.  My form is messy, but I’m working on it.

So things this week have been a bit out of order, since I was sick Sunday night, and had a spin class, and have had a few hectic days at work.  But now that the semester is over (yay!), my schedule is much more flexible and conducive to training.  So from here on out, I should be pretty good to follow things as written.  I’ll get all the workouts in this week, they’re just on different days than in the plan.  But they will all be in there.

It’s so nice to be training again!

