Oh my goodness, where did the weeks go?

Today marks 11 weeks to my first iron distance triathlon.  That means 14 weeks of official training have come and gone.  Yikes!  I feel like that has to be wrong!

I was supposed to run the Branbury Classic Olympic Tri today but ended up missing the start (boo).  The race was two hours away and I could not fall asleep last night.  So when my alarm went off at 3:30am, it was BRUTAL.  I was going on probably two hours of sleep at that point, and there was just no way I was getting out of bed, driving myself two hours, racing, and then driving myself two hours home (my husband was not coming with me today).

So instead, I slept a bit more and then did a nice 14 mile run.  I did the first half outside in the crazy humidity.  It was only in the 80s, but the humidity felt a bit overwhelming, so I decided to split it up.  I stopped downtown and called my husband to come pick me up.  When I got home, I finished the last 7 miles on the treadmill in our (air conditioned) basement.

I ran the outside half at exactly 10:00/mile, and felt very comfortable, except for the humidity of course.  When I switched to the treadmill I had to slow down significantly (to just under 12:00/mile).  For some reason, a 12:00/mile pace on the treadmill feels like the same effort as my 10:00/mile outside.  So I don’t stress about it too much.  I felt great outside.

One thing I did recently was download a couple audiobooks to listen to on my runs.  I thought it would be good motivation and inspiration.  I got “Eat and Run: My Unlikely Journey to Ultramarathon Greatness” by Scott Jurek; “A Life Without Limits: A World Champion’s Journey” by Chrissie Wellington; and “You Are an Ironman: How Six Weekend Warriors Chased Their Dream of Finishing the World’s Toughest Triathlon” by Jacques Steinberg.  Right now I’m listening to the Steinberg book.  The narrator’s voice was a bit annoying at first but now I’m used to it and I’m really enjoying it.

One other thing I’ve been thinking about lately is perhaps running my 140.6’s to raise money for a charity.  But I don’t really know how to go about doing it.  I would like to raise money for a huge community service event that my old high school puts on every March.  The students raise money for people and organizations in the area that are in need (medical expenses are a big one).  I would love to do something to make this more than just me chasing some crazy goal.  I would love for it to help people somehow.

So if anyone knows how to go about raising money for a cause that is not one of the big organizations (that have established websites for this sort of thing), please let me know.

And on a completely unrelated note… HOORAY CURIOSITY!!!  I used to work at NASA (in my pre-teaching days), so I stayed up to watch the landing tonight.  Not going to lie, I had a couple of happy tears.  That was awesome and totally made me miss working there.  I never got to experience a landing – only an entry into orbit for MRO (I operated one of the cameras) – and I wish I had gotten that chance.

Now that Curiosity has it’s wheels safely on Mars, it’s time to go to bed.

