Today I did my first run at altitude (aside from the one four miler I did back in May when I was visiting to get my apartment set up).  I’ve been in Boulder for a week now, so I figured I would have acclimated at least a bit.

It felt great!

I took the dogs out with me and the three of us did a nice fun 2.25 mile run on the bike path.  I didn’t wear a watch, or a garmin.  We just ran and enjoyed it.  We ran on some dirt trail for a bit (I tripped a lot), the dogs got taunted by some gophers, and went in the creek a couple times, and we had a great time.  They did better than I expected too!  But they were definitely wiped out by the time we got home.  They’ve done nothing but sleep since we walked in the door.

Mommy wins!

I felt really good on this little run.  My legs felt fresh (rested!), and I could breathe just fine.  I wanted to run more (I originally typed that as “I wanted to fun more” – I think my subconscious is trying to tell me something!), but the dogs couldn’t handle that – not only because of the altitude, but it’s also hot and dry.  So we just stuck with a short one today.

I’ve got some longer runs mapped out that I want to try.  Perhaps I can do one tomorrow?

I can see why everyone loves Boulder so much.  I miss NY and everybody at home, but I’ve only been here a week and I’m already in love.

