I haven’t written much in the last month and a half or so because I’ve been busy settling in to life in Boulder.  I really love this place.  It’s just absolutely fantastic.  The scenery is amazing, the town is great, the people are great.  I have no complaints.  Of course, moving 1800 miles from everyone you know and love is not without its sadness.  But it’s hard to stay sad when you look at those mountains.  There are some people I really miss though.  I wish I could have taken them with me.

I’ve been enjoying getting to know Boulder and getting adjusted to my new life.  I haven’t gotten out hiking much (at all, really) yet, but I’m looking forward to that.  I also got an epic ski pass, so that’s a season pass to Vail, Breckenridge, and about eight other amazing mountains.  Time to bust out the skiis!  I can actually see the snow-capped continental divide from my apartment patio, which is pretty incredible in itself.

Now that I’m starting to settle in to a routine, it’s time to get back on the bike and out running!  I’ve had my usual post-ironman hiatus, and now it’s time to get my butt back in gear!  I have so many things on the race schedule for next year!

March 1st – Woodlands Marathon with my roommate.  She’s from Woodlands, TX, and wants to run her first marathon next year.  So we’re running her home course together.  Can’t wait!  Also, I’m really excited to see how I do at this one for two reasons:  1) It will be my first straight marathon since I started doing ironmans, so 4ish hours is going to feel like nothing, and 2) training at altitude, racing at (essentially) sea level, baby!

June – Ironman 70.3 Boulder

July – Boulder Peak Tri (Olympic)

annnnnnnnnd…

August 3rd – the Inaugural Ironman Boulder!  I can’t wait!!!

Possibly my first ultramarathon in September or October?  This will probably have to wait until 2015 though.  2014 is already pretty full.

And with that, I need to get back to reading journal articles.  What a fun Friday night.  🙂

