Now that I got that last part of the race report out of the way, the off season is beginning!  I had originally planned to start at the beginning of September, but this month has been insane with work and school and lots of travel, so I pushed it back a few weeks.

The Starting Point

After two solid months of eating like crap and not training, I feel like total garbage.  I am WAY beyond my “oh shit” weight, and into “WTF?” territory.  The main cause of this has been the past month.  With all the travel I’ve been doing for school, I’ve barely been home, and have basically had no groceries for the last month.  Because of this, I’ve been scrounging and eating whatever I can find in my cupboard/fridge, which usually results in breakfast, lunch, and dinner consisting of eating peanut butter off a spoon.

Not healthy.

Also, the current class that I’m taking is a field class.  That means an entire semester of field trips and work is crammed into the month of September, because after that, the weather is a crap shoot.  So aside from eating like crap, I’ve had virtually no time to do anything outside of work and school.  No training.  Nothing.  Nada.

Put those two together, and I am generally feeling cruddy.  I still look perfectly fine on the surface.  But I don’t feel that way.  But that ends starting now.

The Plan

Once my field class ends after this coming week, my schedule gets much more flexible.  Tuesdays and Thursdays are still a hot mess, but the rest of the week is pretty good.  The plan is to swim, bike, and run a couple times a week, while getting in a few decent strength sessions too.  I don’t want to try to do too much, because that’s when things fall apart.  So I’m planning on doing short, quality sessions for the swim/bike/run workouts, with a couple longer sessions on the weekends.

Other important things are staying on top of my groceries, and bringing lunch to school/work every day.  Whenever I don’t, I end up so starving by the end of the day, that I come home and inhale everything in my kitchen.  But with a little bit of planning ahead, I don’t have that problem.

The Goals

I have a few goals for this off season.

  1. Lose the excess weight.  I’m sick of it.
  2. Improve strength and flexibility through weightlifting and yoga.
  3. Make some good power gains on the bike through HIIT workouts.
  4. Improve my swimming technique and pace through focused workouts.  My swims are always so unfocused.
  5. Be consistent in writing at least a weekly post on here.  I haven’t written much in the past year or so, and I miss it!

So that’s that for now.  Time to prep my lunch for tomorrow, and head to bed!

